University of Bath


Senate is responsible for regulating and directing the academic work of the University.

The membership and functions of Senate are laid down in Sections 18 and 19 of the Statutes.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.


    a)Ex-Officio members

    Name Position Term of Office
    Professor B Morley Acting Vice-Chancellor (Chair) ex-officio
    ProfessorJ Knight Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) 2023
    Professor P Lambert Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching) 30/06/2019
    Professor J Bradshaw Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International and Doctoral) 30/01/2023
    Professor N Brook Dean of Science 2021
    Professor G Hawley Dean of Engineering and Design 2021
    Professor D Galbreath Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences 2022
    Professor V Hope Hailey Vice-President (Corporate Engagement) and Dean & Head of School of Management 2023
    Ms K Robinson Librarian ex-officio
    Dr J White Chair of Academic Assembly 2021
    Professor Bruce Rayton Chair Programmes and Partnerships Approval Committee 2019

    (b) (i) Elected Members - Professors

    Name Term of Office
    Professor J Barnett 2019
    Professor S Bending 2020
    Professor D Bird 2019
    Professor H Logemann 2021
    Professor G A McCusker 2019
    Professor C Mitchell 2020
    Professor G J Price 2019
    Professor G Sankaran 2021
    Professor D Stanton Fraser 2020
    Professor S White 2021
    Professor S Wonnacott 2019
    Professor A Zalewska 2021

    (b) (ii) Elected Members - Academic Assembly

    Name Term of Office
    Dr S Alegre 2019
    Dr M Carley 2021
    Professor J Davenport 2019
    Dr A Dinerstein 2020
    Dr S Gamsu 2019
    Dr M Garcia 2020
    Dr S Gheduzzi 2020
    Dr M Harney 2019
    Dr F Laughton 2020
    Dr E Murphy 2019
    Dr L Milligan 2020
    Dr A Salo 2021
    Dr J Troyer 2019

    (c) Student Members

    Name Position Term of Office
    Miss E Alcock President 2018
    Mr J Kitchen Education Officer 2018
    Miss J Zhou Postgraduate Officer 2018
    Ms Z Markovska Student elected by the Students' Union 2018

    The following routinely observe at meetings of Senate:

    Name Position
    Ms A Butler Interim Director of Computing Services
    Ms C Slack Students' Union Representation and Engagement Manager

    The following officers routinely attend meetings of Senate

    Name Position
    Dr J Harris Director of Academic Registry
    Professor A Heath Academic Director of the Centre for Learning and Teaching
    Ms A Pater Head of Secretariat

Dates of meetings and minutes