Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies

Staff

If you wish to make an enquiry to the Department, then please view our contact us page.

You can also see our current research students and their projects.

Head of Department

Name Role Phone Email
Dr Nicholas Startin
Head of Department / Senior Lecturer in French & European Politics 01225 38 6899 n.j.startin@bath.ac.uk

Academic and teaching staff

Name Role Phone Email
Dr Sandrine Alegre Director of Studies for Modern Languages & European Studies (MLES) Years 1 & 2 / Language Coordinator and Convenor for French 01225 38 5829 s.alegre@bath.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Alford Part Time Teaching Fellow   m.alford@bath.ac.uk
Dr Peter Allen Reader in Comparative Politics 01225 38 6659 p.a.allen@bath.ac.uk
Dr Felia Allum Senior Lecturer / Departmental Ethics Officer  01225 38 6390 f.s.allum@bath.ac.uk
Dr Fran Amery Lecturer in British Politics / Admissions Tutor UG for Politics Programmes  01225 38 5534 f.c.amery@bath.ac.uk
Dr Wali Aslam Senior Lecturer in International Relations/ 01225 38 6738 w.aslam@bath.ac.uk
Dr Elisabeth Attlmayr Teaching Fellow in German 01225 38 5662 e.attlmayr@bath.ac.uk
Dr. des. Alim Baluch Teaching Fellow in German Politics & Society 01225 38 4623 a.baluch@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andre Barrinha Lecturer in International Security 01225 38 5719 a.barrinha@bath.ac.uk
Dr Benjamin Bowman Research Assistant   b.c.bowman@bath.ac.uk
Prof Anna Bull Professor of Italian History and Politics 01225 38 6723 a.bull@bath.ac.uk
Dr Patrick Bury Lecturer in Defence & Strategic Studies 01225 38 5718 p.bury@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mattia Cacciatori Lecturer in Conflict & Security  01225 38 5112 m.cacciatori@bath.ac.uk
Ms Rosa Calbet Teaching Fellow in Spanish 01225 38 5851 r.calbet@bath.ac.uk
Mr Enrico Cecconi Admissions Tutor for Modern Languages & European Studies / Language Coordinator for Italian 01225 38 5977 e.cecconi@bath.ac.uk
Juliette Chappelet  French Lectrice  01225 38 4509 j.j.chappelet@bath.ac.uk
Dr David Clarke Senior Lecturer in German 01225 38 6244 d.clarke@bath.ac.uk
Sandra Daroczi Teaching Fellow in French Studies  01225 38 4623 s.daroczi@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mariana Deganutti Research Associate (UNREST) 01225 38 5662 m.deganutti@bath.ac.uk
Dr Benoit Dillet Director of Studies IMML Years 3 & 4 / Teaching Fellow in French Politics & Society   01225 38 4764 b.dillet@bath.ac.uk
Prof Bill Durodie Professor and Chair of International Relations 01225 38 6398 b.durodie@bath.ac.uk
Dr Brett Edwards Admissions Tutor for Politics Programmes / Lecturer in Security & Public Policy 01225 38 6466 b.w.i.edwards@bath.ac.uk
Dr Isabelle Engeli Director of Studies for Postgraduate Research Students / Reader in Comparative Politics & Public Policy 01225 38 5028 i.engeli@bath.ac.uk
Dr Juan Pablo Ferrero Lecturer in Latin American Studies / Director of Studies for Modern Languages & European Studies (MLES) Years 3 & 4 01225 38 5268

j.p.ferrero@bath.ac.uk

Mr Miguel Fialho Teaching Fellow in Interpreting & Translation (Chinese-English) 01225 38 4719 m.f.f.fialho@bath.ac.uk
Ms Astrid Forsyth Language Coordinator and Convenor for German/Schools Liasion Officer 01225 38 3849 a.forsyth@bath.ac.uk
Mrs Jane Ping Francis Course Director MA in Interpreting and Translating (Chinese stream)/Senior Teaching Fellow 01225 38 3826 j.p.francis@bath.ac.uk
Prof David J. Galbreath Dean, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
Professor of International Security
01225 38 5936 d.galbreath@bath.ac.uk
Dr Maria Garcia Senior Lecturer 01225 38 5020
Dr Adalgisa Giorgio Language Convenor for Italian / Senior Lecturer in Italian 01225 38 6171 a.giorgio@bath.ac.uk
Mr Paul Golf Teaching Fellow in Translation (Chinese-English) 01225 38 3137  p.golf@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ivan Gololobov Teaching Fellow in Russian 01225 38 5588 i.gololobov@bath.ac.uk
Dr Paul Goode Senior Lecturer in Russian Politics / Dissertation Coordinator  01225 38 4147 j.p.goode@bath.ac.uk
Ms Cornelia Gruber German Lectrice 01225 38 5235 c.gruber@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sophia Hatzisavvidou Lecturer in Comparative Politics  01225 38 5729 s.hatzisavvidou@bath.ac.uk
Ms Estibaliz Hernando  Teaching Fellow in Spanish  01225 38 3849 e.hernando@bath.ac.uk
Prof Paul Higate Professor in Conflict & Security 01225 38 5922 p.higate@bath.ac.uk
Dr Christina Horvath UACES 2018 Coordinator / Senior Lecturer in French Politics 01225 38 3273 c.horvath@bath.ac.uk
Juan Hoyos Spanish Lector  01225 38 4509 j.hoyos@bath.ac.uk
Lara Kasyan Teaching Fellow in Russian 01225 38 5588 l.kasyan@bath.ac.uk
Dr Paul Kennedy Lecturer in Spanish and European Studies 01225 38 3849 p.t.kennedy@bath.ac.uk
Ms Chloe Kervio Teaching Fellow in the French Language  01225 38 4994 c.kervio@bath.ac.uk
Ms Lise Koebel French Lectrice  01225 38 4509 l.koebel@bath.ac.uk
Mrs Elena Kidd Course Director MA in Interpreting and Translating (European Stream)
Course Director MA in Translation and Professional Language Skills
01225 38 6189 e.kidd@bath.ac.uk
Dr Yukteshwar Kumar

Course Director MA in Interpreting and Translating (Chinese stream) /
Equality & Diversity Offiver

01225 38 6776 y.kumar@bath.ac.uk
Professor Timo Kivimaki Director of Research / Professor in International Relations 01225 38 4684 t.a.kivimaki@bath.ac.uk
Professor Peter Lambert Pro-VC for Learning & Teaching/Professor of Latin American Studies 01225 38 3272 p.w.lambert@bath.ac.uk
Teresa Lander Part Time Teaching Fellow (MAIT & TPLS)   t.lander@bath.ac.uk
Prof Charles Lees Impact Director / Professor of Politics 01225 38 6490 c.s.j.lees@bath.ac.uk
Xu Lin Teaching Fellow (MAIT Chinese Stream) 01225 38 3137 x.lin@bath.ac.uk
Dr Irene Macías Language Coordinator and Convenor for Spanish/ Language Coordinator for Russian/ Director of Studies IMML 01225 38 5481 i.macias@bath.ac.uk
Dimitrios Machairas Research Assistant 01225 38 TBC d.machairas@bath.ac.uk
Dr Jorge Marco Lecturer in Spanish Politics, History & Society 01225 38 3428 j.marco@bath.ac.uk
Dr Penny Miles Teaching Fellow in Latin American Studies 01225 38 5481 p.l.miles@bath.ac.uk 
Dr Susan Milner Reader in European Politics 01225 38 5355 s.e.milner@bath.ac.uk
Dr Elena Minelli Language Co-ordinator for Italian 01225 38 5662 e.a.minelli@bath.ac.uk
Dr Aurelien Mondon Deputy Head of Department / Director of Learning & Teaching 01225 38 6258 a.mondon@bath.ac.uk
Dr David Moon Director of Studies for Undergraduate Politics Programmes (Years 1 & 2) / Senior Lecturer in Politics  01225 38 6876 d.s.moon@bath.ac.uk
Dr Nina Parish Director of Studies MA in Interpreting & translation (MAIT) / Senior Lecturer in French Studies 01225 38 3250 n.parish@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andrea Purdeková Senior Lecturer in Conflict and Security 01225 38 5235 a.purdekova@bath.ac.uk
Galadriel Ravelli Teaching Fellow in Italian Politics & Society 01225 38 6273 g.ravelli@bath.ac.uk
Mr Nick Regan Teaching Fellow in Spanish Translation 01225 38 5481 n.j.regan@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mauricio Rivera Senior Lecturer in Conflict & Security 01225 38 5662 mr837@bath.ac.uk
Ms Tiffany Robert French Lectrice 01225 38 4509 t.m.j.robert@bath.ac.uk
Dr Angelos Sepos Teaching Fellow   a.sepos@bath.ac.uk
Dr Scott Thomas Senior Lecturer in International Relations and the Politics of Developing Countries 01225 38 4508 s.m.thomas@bath.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Thomson Lecturer in Comparative Politics 01225 38 5812 j.thomson@bath.ac.uk
Ms Claudine Touzé Teaching Fellow in French 01225 38 4994 c.touze@bath.ac.uk
Dr Elena Trincanato Italian Lettore 01225 38 5662 et404@bath.ac..uk
Dr Karoline Von Oppen

Director of Studies for International Management & Modern Languages (IMML) /
Senior Lecturer in German

01225 38 6334 k.v.oppen@bath.ac.uk
Dr Steve Wharton Senior Lecturer in French and Communication/ Departmental Erasmus and Assistantships Director 01225 38 5195 s.wharton@bath.ac.uk
Dr Leslie Wehner Director of Studies for Postgraduate Taught Students/
Senior Lecturer in Politics & International Relations (Latin America)
01225 38 5460 l.e.wehner@bath.ac.uk
Mr Howard White Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies /
Director of Studies for Undergraduate Politics Programmes (Years 3 & 4)
01225 38 6246 h.j.white@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sophie Whiting Lecturer in Politics / Faculty Athena Swan Representative 01225 38 5522 s.whiting@bath.ac.uk
Dr Bryan Pak-Nung Wong Senior Lecturer in Politics and International Relations 01225 38 4217 p.wong@bath.ac.uk
Mr Steven Wonnacott Teaching Fellow in Interpretation and Translation/ Deputy Director of Studies for MA in Interpreting & Translation (MAIT) 01225 38 6395 s.wonnacott2@bath.ac.uk
Mrs Natasha Zhuravkina Teaching Fellow in Russian 01225 38 5481 n.zhuravkina@bath.ac.uk

Emeritus academic staff, Visiting Research Fellows and other recently retired academic staff

Name Title Phone Email
Prof William Brooks Emeritus Professor of French N/A w.s.brooks@bath.ac.uk
Prof Roger Eatwell Honorary Professor of Politics N/A r.eatwell@bath.ac.uk
Prof Axel Goodbody Recently Retired Professor of German N/A a.h.goodbody@bath.ac.uk
Prof Jolyon Howorth Emeritus Professor of European Studies N/A j.m.howorth@bath.ac.uk
Prof Rosalind Marsh Emeritus Professor of Russian N/A r.j.marsh@bath.ac.uk
Brian Neve Honorary Reader in Politics N/A
Prof Dennis Tate Emeritus Professor of German Studies N/A g.d.tate@bath.ac.uk
Prof Ian Wallace Emeritus Professor of German N/A i.wallace@bath.ac.uk