Centre for Nonlinear Mechanics

People

Academic staff

Professor Chris Budd OBE

Professor of Applied Mathematics
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: c.j.budd@bath.ac.uk

  • Nonlinear elliptic and parabolic PDEs
  • Discontinuous dynamical systems
  • Moving mesh methods for meteorology
  • Adaptive mesh methods and discrete variational methods
  • Data assimilation
  • Structural optimisation
  • Nonlinear electrostatics and impedence tomography
  • Fourth order PDEs arising in geology,structures and in nonlinear optics
  • Industrial problems, especially linked with mechanical and electrical engineering and in food production.
  • SMART Grid dynamics

Dr Richard Butler

Reader in Aircraft Structures
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Email: r.butler@bath.ac.uk

  • Structural optimisation
  • Composite structures
  • Buckling and vibration
  • Aeroelasticity
  • Damage detection
  • Compressive strength of delaminated composites

Dr Kirill Cherednichenko

Reader
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: k.cherednichenko@bath.ac.uk

Professor Jonathan Dawes

Professor in Applied Mathematics
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: j.h.p.dawes@bath.ac.uk

  • Applied dynamical systems
  • Bifurcation theory and dynamics with symmetry
  • Pattern formation
  • Fluid mechanics

Dr Joanna Jordan

Institute Manager
Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation (IMI)
Email: j.f.jordan@bath.ac.uk

  • Applied dynamical systems

Professor Patrick S. Keogh

Personal Chair in Machine Systems
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Email: p.s.keogh@bath.ac.uk

  • Magnetic bearing systems

Dr Apala Majumdar

Reader in Mathematics and EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellow
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: a.majumdar@bath.ac.uk

  • Liquid crystal theory and display devices
  • Analysis and applications of PDEs
  • Calculus of Variations
  • Industrial Applied Mathematics

Dr Nick McCullen

Lecturer
Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering
Email: n.j.mccullen@bath.ac.uk

Professor Paul Milewski

Professor of Mathematics and Director of SAMBa
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: p.a.milewski@bath.ac.uk

  • Geophysical fluid mechanics
  • Nonlinear waves
  • Free-surface problems
  • Mathematical biology

Professor Cathryn Mitchell

Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
Email: c.n.mitchell@bath.ac.uk

Professor Nick Mitchell

Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
Email: n.j.mitchell@bath.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Rees

Reader in Fluid Dynamics
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Email: d.a.s.rees@bath.ac.uk

  • Instability of unsteady thermal boundary layers.
  • Nonlinear wave and vortex convection in thermal boundary layers.
  • Microscopic modelling of porous media.
  • Microscopic modelling of local thermal nonequilibrium effects in porous media.
  • Thermoconvective instabilities.
  • Pattern selection in convecting systems.

Dr Tony Shardlow

Senior Lecturer in Numerical Analysis
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: t.shardlow@bath.ac.uk

  • Numerical analysis
  • Stochastic differential equations

Professor Robert Scheichl

Professor of Scientific Computing
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: r.scheichl@bath.ac.uk

Dr Danielle Wain

Lecturer
Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering
Email: d.j.wain@bath.ac.uk

Dr Robert Watson

Senior Lecturer
Department of Electrical Engineering
Email: r.j.watson@bath.ac.uk

Dr Johannes Zimmer

Reader in Applied Mathematics
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: j.zimmer@bath.ac.uk

  • Multi-scale problems
  • Dynamical systems
  • Phase transitions

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr Victor Bayona Revilla

Research Associate
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: v.bayona.revilla@bath.ac.uk

Dr Andrew McRae

Research Associate
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: a.t.t.mcrae@bath.ac.uk

Dr Anne Reinarz

Research Associate
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Email: a.k.reinarz@bath.ac.uk

Members at other institutions

Professor Alan Champneys

Department of Engineering Mathematics
University of Bristol
Email: a.r.champneys@bristol.ac.uk

  • Applied dynamical systems
  • Numerical bifurcation theory
  • Localised phenomena

Dr Tim Dodwell

Research Fellow/Proleptic Lecturer
University of Exeter
Email: t.dodwell@exeter.ac.uk

  • Manufacturing of composite materials
  • Models for layered structures
  • Mathematical geology

Dr Mike R Jeffrey

Research Fellow / Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics
Department of Engineering Mathematics
University of Bristol
Email: mike.jeffrey@bristol.ac.uk

  • Nonlinear and nonsmooth dynamics
  • Singularities and asymptotics
  • Bifurcations and geometrical methods for differential equations
  • Applications in physics, biology and engineering

Professor Mark A. Peletier

Professor of Applied Mathematics
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
University of Eindhoven
Email: m.a.peletier@tue.nl

  • Partial localization and understanding the stability of lipid bilayers
  • Elastic structures: the elastic strut on an elastic foundation and twisted rods
  • Folding in geological structures
  • Newton's problem of the body of least resistance

Dr Ahmer Wadee

Reader in Structural Mechanics
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Imperial College, London
Email: a.wadee@imperial.ac.uk

  • Buckling and delamination of sandwich structure systems
  • Formation of kink-bands in multilayered structures and materials
  • Localized buckling in elastic tubes
  • Post-buckling of prestressed stayed columns