Research & Innovation Services

Research Commercialisation and Contracts

A new Research Commercialisation and Contracts team has been established in Research and Innovation Services. This team is replacing Intellectual Property and Legal Services (IPLS).

The aim of the team is to deliver contracts with an understood and acceptable level of risk in a reasonable timescale.

If you need a contract then please read below and contact us through our email address: research-contracts@bath.ac.uk.

You will need a contract if you are working with external organisations to do your research (paid or unpaid), including other universities, business and government bodies. This includes KTPs, consultancy, TSB or European Commission collaborative R&D projects.

Funding directly from most of the UK Research Councils do not need a contract as they have non-negotiable terms & conditions (which you should always read), but some charities and government agencies do require contracts. If you're not sure, please ask us and if you think you need a contract, then the earlier you contact us the better.

Types of Contract

The following types of contract are included in this process:

  • Unfunded collaboration agreements
  • Collaboration & consortium agreements (including EU)
  • Novation Agreements 
  • Consultancy
  • Funder terms
  • Confidentiality agreements
  • Studentships & student projects
  • Knowledge transfer partnerships
  • Non-Disclosure Agreements
  • Material transfer agreements
  • Spin-outs
  • Framework agreements
  • Sub-contracts
  • Assignments/sales/licences of patents
  • Evaluation agreements
  • Visiting academic agreements

The Research Commercialisation and Contracts team comprises the following staff members:

Dr Alison Evans
Head of Pre Award and Contracts 
Email: A.J.Evans@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3350

Clarissa Bell
Legal Advisor
Email: C.E.Bell@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4496

Rebecca Brown
Contracts Officer
Email: R.E.Brown@bath.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6479 

Karen GIles
Contracts Officer
Email: K.Giles@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6823

James Kolaczkowski
Conttracts Officer 
Email: J.Kolaczkowski@bath.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5095 

Sara Lovelock
RIS Departmental Coordinator 
Email: S.Lovelock@bath.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1225 38 6283

Vicky Sheppard 
Senior Contracts Manager 
Email: V.E.Sheppard@bath.ac.uk  
Tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3613