Statutory Bodies and Committees

Faculty of Engineering & Design

The Board of Studies is responsible to Senate for all matters relating to the organisation of education, teaching and research in the Faculty, including all examination matters.

Secretary to the Board : If you would like further information about the Board of Studies for the Faculty of Engineering and Design, please contact Rachel Summers, ext 6526.

Board members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Professor G Breakwell Vice-Chancellor
Professor J G Hawley Chair, Dean of Faculty
Professor T J Ibell Associate Dean for Research
Dr S E Clift Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Dr A Heath Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching

Heads of Departments in the Faculty:

Professor S Emmitt Architecture & Civil Engineering
Dr A Evans Electronic & Electrical Engineering
Dr G Lock Mechanical Engineering      ex-officio
Dr T Mays Chemical Engineering

Nine members elected by and from the Academic Assembly members of the Faculty (to include at least one from each Department in the Faculty):

Dr N Johnston Mechanical Engineering 1 Aug 2014 - 31 July 2017
Dr M Wilson Mechanical Engineering 1 Aug 2014 - 31 July 2017
Dr I Astin Electonic & Electrical Engineering 1 Aug 2014 - 31 July 2017
Dr A Copping Architecture & Civil Engineering 1 Aug 2015 - 31 July 2018
Mr M McManus Mechanical Engineering  1 Aug 2015 - 31 July 2018
Dr M Evernden Architecture & Civil Engineering 1 Aug 2016 - 31 July 2018
Dr J Chew Chemical Engineering 1 Aug 2016 - 31 July 2019
Dr C Clarke Electronic & Electrical Engineering 1 Aug 2016 - 31 July 2019
Dr D Wong Architecture & Civil Engineering 1 Aug 2016 - 31 July 2019

Co-opted Members (up to 5):

Dr P Iravani Department of Mechanical Engineering  October 2015

One representative from each Faculty/School:

Dr K Cherednichenko Science
since 2016/17
Dr J Gavin
Humanities and Social Sciences
since 2013/14
Dr M Formentini
since 2012/13

Three students (including at least one undergraduate and one postgraduate student):

Mr Carl Tholin-Chittenden  Postgraduate Research Representative  
Miss Nicola Morris  Undergraduate Student Representative  
Mr Paramesh (Max) Hutachinda  Postgraduate Taught Representative  

One Sabbatical officer nominated by the Students' Union:

Mr Ben Davies Students' Union Education Officer  


Mr D Stacey Faculty Librarian  

Learning Partnerships Office

Dr Florin Bisset Head of Learning Partnerships Office (or nominee)  



Terms of Reference

Approved by Privy Council 1966.

The functions of Boards of Studies are prescribed by Section 20.1 of the Statutes:

20.1 There shall be a Board of Studies of each School which shall have the following functions:

  1. To advise and report to the Senate on all matters relating to the organisation of education, teaching and research in the subjects of the School, including curricula and examinations.
  2. To consider the progress of Students in the School and to report to the Senate thereon.
  3. To recommend to the Senate persons for appointment as internal and external examiners in the subjects of the School.
  4. To consider and where necessary take action on any matters which may be referred to it by the Senate.
  5. To advise and recommend to the Senate on financial matters which affect the academic policy of the School.
  6. To carry out any functions which may be given to or imposed on it by the Ordinances.

Procedural Rules

Standing Orders: Board of Studies Standing Orders
Appointment of Chair: The Dean of Faculty (Section 8.4 of the Statutes).
Appointment Of Vice-Chair: See Standing Order 4(a).
Membership: See Ordinance 10.
Co-options: Up to five, See Ordinance 10.
Alternates: See Standing Order 1(b). For ex-officio members only - allowed at the discretion of the person nominating.
Quorum: See Standing Order 4(b-d).
Rules for voting: See Standing Orders 9 and 10.
Minutes: Submitted to Senate.

(1) Staff/Student Liaison Committees:
Ordinance 25 states:
Each Department shall have at least one Staff/Student Liaison Committee with such constitution and terms of reference as the Board of Studies shall prescribe, provided that:
(a) the number of students shall not be less than the number of staff members
(b) there shall not be less than six student members.
(c) the terms of reference shall include the appointment of members to serve on the Board of Studies under the provisions of Ordinance 10.1(g) (i.e. student members of the Board).
Minutes of the Staff/Student Liaison Committee may be received by the Board of Studies.
(2) Boards of Examiners.
(3) Ad hoc sub-committees may be set up for each Board of Studies as required.
Current sub-committees are: Learning, Teaching and Quality Committee, Research Committee and Research Students' Committee.