The Department of Life Science’s Dr Christine Edmead is one of 36 new Fellows elected to the British Pharmacological Society this year.

A senior lecturer and Director of Studies for Pharmacology programmes at the University of Bath, Christine has led on the development of a practical and research-focussed curriculum. This involves encouraging group working and solving problems through case studies. Her work has resulted in several education awards, including a National Teaching Fellow Award in 2015.

Fellows and Honorary Fellows of the British Pharmacological Society are elected by peers. Their work furthers all disciplines of pharmacology in the discovery, development and use of medicines. Through leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society, they inspire and support members at earlier stages of their career or study.

Along with the 36 new fellows elected, the British Pharmacological Society also named 13 new Honorary Fellows. Professor David Heal, a visiting professor to the Department of Life Sciences, was awarded this honour. Former colleagues, Professor Chris Garland and Professor Barry Potter, were also among the Honorary Fellows.

President of the Society, Professor Clive Page, said: “This year’s elections to Fellowship and Honorary Fellowship showcase the breadth of expertise in the pharmacology community, who are working across the UK and internationally on a range of areas of interest. For the first time, we are also recognising early career researchers who have already contributed so much to the Society.”