The Rolls of Honour recognise exceptional philanthropic support of the University and members are inscribed into the Rolls in perpetuity. We welcomed 10 new members and celebrated their generosity at an event in The Woodlands on 29 January 2020, where guests signed the Rolls of Honour with the Vice-Chancellor.

In attendance was Howard Nicholson, who gave his first gift to the Alumni Fund over 25 years ago and has been a loyal supporter ever since. Howard and his fellow Alumni Fund donors have an incredible impact on our University community, providing scholarships for students, funding kit for clubs and societies and enabling researchers to get their work off the ground.

The University is close to Howard’s heart, as he worked here as the librarian for 20 years until his retirement in 2012. He said:

As a member of staff for 20 years I saw the University transformed into the top 10 of British universities, in part as a result of donors and alumni support. My own area of responsibility, the Library, benefited annually from the generosity of the family and friends of graduates and others. I have, therefore, been happy also to make my small contribution over the years towards further improving the University and its services to the present day community.

As well as former staff, we were also thrilled to welcome alumni, friends of the University and corporate partners to the Rolls of Honour. Alumnus John Perry signed twice, both in recognition of his individual philanthropy and in his capacity as Managing Director of BLDA Architects. BLDA Architects provide scholarships for promising Architecture students who might otherwise not have access to a University of Bath education. Thanks to BLDA’s support, talented young architects now have the opportunity to access the skills, knowledge and connections they need to succeed.

John said: “My profession has provided me with great enjoyment and satisfaction, all due in no small part to my years at Bath. The seven years needed to study architecture leads to a huge personal financial investment and I see it as important to do what little I can to help those who would otherwise be unable to study. I am delighted to be involved with the University in this small way and to receive the detailed and insightful reports from our scholars."

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian White said: “The Rolls of Honour recognise and celebrate our lasting gratitude to our most generous supporters. Their support not only enables us to maintain our reputation as a top 10 university recognised for excellence in teaching and research, but also to provide financial support and mentoring for the brightest and best students, enabling them to fulfil their potential.”

We welcomed the following new members:

Vice–Chancellor’s Roll of Honour

  • Mr Geoff Crocker
  • Mr John Perry on behalf of BLDA Architects

Dean’s Roll of Honour

  • Mr Tony Best (Honorary DEng 2013)
  • Mr Stephen Carter (BEng Mechanical Engineering 1992, MPhil Mechanical Engineering 1995)
  • Mr Richard Hall (BSc Economics & Government 1977) on behalf of Zenith Global Ltd
  • Mr Ian Hay Davison CBE (Honorary LLD 1998) and Mrs Morny Hay Davison
  • Mr Howard Nicholson (Honorary LLD 2012)
  • Mr Peter Norris on behalf of Oculus Building Consultancy
  • Mr John Perry (BSc General Architectural Studies 1973, BArch General Architectural Studies 1976)
  • Ms Marcelle Speller OBE