Staff and students joined us for The SU Bath and The University of Bath Education Awards evening held on Friday 13 April at the Apex Hotel, Bath. The Education Awards, now in their second year, are an opportunity to recognise and reward the outstanding contribution that students and staff make towards the rich education community at The University of Bath. The evening consisted of awards being given to student Academic Representatives, Staff and University Teaching Award winners.

This year we were inundated with nominations for students and staff for the Awards. Academic Representatives were nominated for their commitment towards representing the student voice, awards presented included Excellence in Academic or Faculty Representation, Academic Representatives of the Year, and Staff Student Liaison Committee Chair of the Year. Being an Academic Representative allows students to make innovative changes to their course by working in partnership with the university. This year the staff awards for Outstanding Contribution to Peer Mentoring and Peer Assisted Learning were also presented at the Education Awards to recognise those who go above and beyond to support the peer support schemes in departments or faculties/the School. The SU also introduced three new staff awards which were presented on the night for Personal Tutor of the Year, Support Staff Member of the Year and Postgraduate Teacher of the Year.

Chloe Page, The SU Bath Education Officer said, “It was a privilege to be a part of this year’s Education Awards as an officer, especially as I got to attend as an Academic Rep last year, so it was great to be able to celebrate with, and support, the next generation of Academic Reps. I’d like to thank the incredible work that our Academic Reps and our university staff do. Congratulations to all our nominees and award winners, it was a remarkable evening”

A full list of Academic Representation, staff Peer Support and the three new SU award winners can be found here

This year, 46 highly competitive nominations were submitted for six University Teaching Awards. The awards celebrate individuals and teams who make an exceptional contribution and commitment to learning and teaching excellence at the University, from leadership and innovation, to research-engaged teaching and pastoral support.

Winners were presented with an award plaque by Professor Peter Lambert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning & Teaching), Professor Jeremy Bradshaw, Pro-Vice Chancellor (International & Doctoral) and Professor Jonathan Knight, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Professor Andrew Heath, Director of the Centre for Learning & Teaching.

Professor Peter Lambert said, “The quality of the nominations this year was outstanding and served as a reminder of the inspiring efforts colleagues across the University make to support students. I would like to congratulate and thank the winners and the nominees for their dedication and hard work”.

Dr Kate Fraser, Department of Mechanical Engineering, was named the winner of the John Willis Award. She said, “I’m lucky to get to teach subjects I’m passionate about and to have such great students to teach”.

Dr Cassie Wilson, Associate Dean (Learning & Teaching), Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences said, “I’m delighted to see the achievements of staff and students being rewarded for their dedication. I’m fortunate to have been the recipient of this award because of working with such wonderful people”.

Our 2018 winners are celebrated on the CLT blog.

Photo credits: Ashish Nagpal.