Staff and students were invited to join The SU Bath and The University of Bath Education Awards at an online ceremony which went live on Friday 15th May and is available to watch back on The SU Education Awards 2020 webpage. The Education Awards, now in their fourth year, are an opportunity to recognise and reward the outstanding contribution that students and staff make towards the rich education community at The University of Bath. Professor Peter Lambert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning & Teaching) and Ruqia Osman, The SU Bath Education Officer, took part in this virtual event, which announced this year’s student Academic Representative, Staff, Peer Support and University Teaching Award winners.

This year The SU was overwhelmed with nominations for students and staff for the Awards. Academic Representatives were nominated for their commitment towards representing the student voice; awards presented included Academic Representatives of the Year and Staff Student Liaison Committee Chair of the Year. Being an Academic Representative allows students to make innovative changes to their course by working in partnership with the university. Staff Awards were presented for Personal Tutor of the Year and Support Staff Member of the Year. Jinai Zhou, The SU Bath Postgraduate Officer also presented the Postgraduate Teacher of the Year Award. The Staff Awards celebrate of members of our community devoted to enhancing the learning environment for students at The University of Bath.

Alisha Lobo, The SU Community Officer presented the Peer Support Awards. The Peer Support Awards recognise contributions made by those helping their fellow students transition to University life and grow in confidence, through Peer Mentoring and Peer Assisted Learning (PAL). Awards presented for Peer Mentoring included Peer Mentor of the Year and Lead Peer Mentor of the Year, and awards presented for PAL included PAL Leader of the Year and PAL Scheme of the Year. The Outstanding Contribution to Peer Mentoring and Outstanding Contribution to PAL awards were also presented to staff to recognise their work in supporting these volunteers.

Ruqia Osman, The SU Bath Education Officer said, “As ever the nominations for The SU Education Awards have highlighted the dedication of members of community making an incredible impact on education. We have been inspired to hear about Academic Reps transforming courses, Peer Mentors creating resources for settling into university life, and Personal Tutors encouraging tutees to thrive in academia and beyond this as well. Thank you to each and everyone one of you making a difference.”

A full list of Academic Representation, Staff and Peer Support Award winners can be found here.

This year, we received a record number of highly competitive nominations for the six University Teaching Awards. The Awards celebrate individuals and teams who make an exceptional contribution and commitment to learning and teaching excellence at the University, from leadership and innovation, to research-engaged teaching and pastoral support. Professor Peter Lambert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning & Teaching) presented the Innovation in Learning and Teaching, Mary Tasker Award, John Willis Award, Director of Studies Award, Leadership in Learning and Teaching Award and the Best Team in Support of Student Learning Award.

Professor Peter Lambert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning & Teaching) said, “I never cease to be amazed by the commitment, innovation, energy and passion of colleagues, including academic staff, students and professional services staff. I would like to thank all staff and students who were nominated, and those shortlisted, for the immense effort you have put in this year. You should all be extremely proud of your achievements and the impact that you have made.”

Dr Elies Dekoninck from the Department of Mechanical Engineering was this year’s winner of the Leadership in Learning and Teaching Award. She said, “I’m really grateful to my colleagues for putting me forward. I try to support colleagues through the learning and teaching leadership roles I have... and appreciate all the hard work they do towards the learning experiences that our students have in Mechanical Engineering.”

In memory of Deborah Lewis, School of Management: At this year's University Teaching Awards, we remember Deb, who sadly passed away recently. Deb was the winner of last year's inaugural Director of Studies Award, and was a wonderful colleague who was much loved by her students and those who worked with her.

A full list of the University Teaching Award's winning, commended and shortlisted nominees can be found on the CLT blog. Over the coming weeks, we will also be catching up with our winners to find out more about what winning a University Teaching Award has meant to them.