Pamela Ali, Alexander Arnold, Mitchell Duprie, Edmund Fenton Fowler, Edward Fowler, Cam Waite and Stephen Wood from the Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering, and Jacob Clapp, Tom Holmes and Matthew Kenealy from the Department of Mechanical Engineering collected their awards at the British Film Museum in London last month.

The scholarships are given to students who have achieved at least 3 ‘As’ in their A-Levels or Advanced Highers and have accepted a place on an IET accredited engineering or technology degree course.

Barry Brooks, President of the IET, said: “With demand for more than two million engineers over the next few decades, it has never been more important to encourage young people to study engineering.”

Professor Gary Hawley, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering & Design, said: “I am very pleased to see the hard work of these students recognised by the Diamond Jubilee Scholarship scheme.

“They have all demonstrated excellence in their academic work, and I look forward to seeing them continue to excel during their time with us.”