The Innovation in Learning & Teaching Award is made in recognition of a significant contribution to innovation in curriculum design, content or delivery.

Dr Emma Carmel (Department of Social and Policy Sciences) is recognised for her innovative interdisciplinary approach to designing and delivering a new programme of study. In particular, she is recognised for the encouragement she offers students as co-designers of their learning and promotes interdisciplinary dialogue around an advanced research-based curriculum.

Ms Lyn Hanning (Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology) has been instrumental in developing a complex simulation and practice-based learning strategy across all four years of a programme of study. In particular, she is recognised for having established an impressive network of external partnerships to foster these developments. In so doing, she is building a national reputation for her work.

Dr Maria Valero (Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering) has demonstrated an impressive commitment to exploring new teaching methods, particularly using technology to develop and challenge students. She has made successful innovations in curriculum design and has worked with teams across the university to embed employability and transferable skills within the curriculum.