This month the IPR was delighted to welcome seven new Fellows, as part of the Policy Fellowship Programme, who took part in a total of 22 meetings with 19 academics or senior staff at the University.

Janet Hurford, Senior Operational Research Officer in the Efficiency Measurement Unit, at the Office for National Statistics, spent the day meeting with academics from the Department of Social and Policy Sciences, Department of Education, and the School of Management including Dr Ricky Kanabar as well as Professors Jane Millar, Hugh Lauder and Graham Room.

The IPR also welcomed five Fellows from the Department of Health and Social Care including Dorian Kennedy (Deputy Director: Children Families and Communities), Harriet Becher and Jenny Oldroyd (Deputy Directors: Obesity, Food and Nutrition), Laura Carruthers (Childhood Obesity Team Leader), and Tom Hardie (Assistant Economist) who were looking to address obesity and childhood obesity as part of their Fellowship visit. They met with academics from our Departments for Health, Psychology, Economics and Social and Policy Sciences including Professors Harry Rutter and Martyn Standage and Drs Fiona Gillison, Charlotte Dack, Leda Blackwood and Jonathan James.

Richard Banks, Deputy Director at Policy Profession, spent the day with academics from the Vice Chancellor’s Office, IPR, School of Management, and the Centre for Teaching and Learning, including; Professors Veronica Hope-Hailey, Peter Lambert, and Nick Pearce; as well as Drs Andrea Abbas and Robin Shields and Marie Salter.

The IPR looks forward to continuing the Policy Fellowship Programme and welcoming more Fellows in the coming months.

To find out more about the programme, or if you’d like to take part, visit the IPR website.