The new network aims to provide the next generation of social scientist researchers. Across the UK, the ESRC is funding 14 new Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTPs) which includes the University of Bath as part of the South West Doctoral Training Partnership. Other institutions involved in the SWDTP are Universities of Bristol, Exeter, Plymouth and the West of England.

The new funding secures 6 years of funding to develop social science skills.

On the announcement, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research) Professor Jonathan Knight commented: "High quality doctoral training is imperative to keep the UK competitive on the world stage and to secure both the University’s and the country’s reputation for world class research so we are delighted that the ESRC has committed for another six years of funding.

"It means we can maintain our tradition of developing talented, innovative and dedicated researchers through PhD training over the coming years. We look forward to working with our partners in Bristol, Exeter, Plymouth and the West of England to keep the South West at the forefront of social science."

The new DTPs replace the Doctoral Training Centres. From October 2017, students will benefit from being able to access the highest quality training in social sciences.

The new training focuses on:

  • Interdisciplinary working
  • Clear communication of research ideas and outcomes
  • International partnerships
  • High quality analytical work
  • Handling different forms of data
  • Collaborations

Across the 14 new DTPs, around 500 studentships will be available per year.

Diary Dates for DTP:

  • 1 November 2016: SWDTP launches in Bristol. Invites will be issued to academic staff and key contacts shortly.
  • SWDTC and SWDTP roadshows take place during November, arriving in Bath week commencing 21 November. This is your opportunity to hear more about the new developments and how the SWDTP differs from SWDTC.

More information about the Postgraduate training and development guides is available from the ESRC’s website.