The National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) Scheme, which is run by Advance HE, recognises individuals who have made an impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. The award has been running since 2000. Up to 55 individuals receive this award each year. On gaining the award, fellows continue to play a role in enhancing teaching and learning within their own institution, as well as across the HE sector and further afield.

Professor Ian White, Vice-Chancellor, said: “I am delighted to see two outstanding colleagues receive this prestigious national award. Both Gan and Steve have had a major impact on the student experience here at Bath and I congratulate them wholeheartedly on their success in becoming National Teaching Fellows.”

Professor Momna Hejmadi, Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching) in the Faculty of Science said: “Being awarded an Advance HE UK National Teaching Fellowship is a rare honour and a national recognition of excellence in teaching. We are immensely proud of Gan and Steve, who fully deserve this accolade in recognition of their track record of innovative and impactful teaching, sharing best practice and supporting the wider community in teaching and learning. These awards reflect the high value of teaching excellence here at the University of Bath.”

Read more about the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme, including winner profiles.