Professor Tim Rogers of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, has won the pandemics category in this year's Lloyd's Science of Risk prize.

Professor Rogers introduces the topic of this research: "Most people in the past have been interested the health of a network as a whole; the goal of our work was to make more detailed predictions about which individuals in a network are most at risk, and even the likely order of infections. The next step is to hopefully translate our theory into some practical tools to help monitor and prevent future epidemics."

The paper, Predicting the Speed of Epidemics Spreading in Networks was co-authored by Dr Sam Moore, who completed his PhD with Professor Rogers in 2019, as part of the University's Centre for Doctoral Training in Statistical Applied Mathematics before beginning his postdoctoral position at the University of Warwick. Dr Moore commented on being recognised in the Pandemics category stating that: "It is great to see our paper, which is quite technical in its mathematics, recognised for its potential wider impact. It makes the considerable work put into it that much more worthwhile."

The Lloyd’s Science of Risk prize is awarded to esteemed academics and PhD students who, through their scientific work, further the understanding of risk and insurance. This year there were three categories: cyber, climate change and pandemics. A prize is awarded for the best submission in each class, as well as an overall winner.

Dr Trevor Maynard, Head of Innovation at Lloyd’s said: “The Science of Risk prize is an important route for expert insight to come to the Lloyd’s market and raise awareness of exemplary academic research work of interest to the insurance community. Cyber, climate change and, of course, pandemics are highly relevant and growing areas of risk, so we’re pleased to have received many thought-provoking submissions for this year’s prize..."

The judging panel included Dr Trevor Maynard, Lloyd’s; Alison Robinson, NERC; Iveren Yongo, Travelers; George Beattie, Beazley; Julia Graham, AIRMIC; Ben Oppenheim, Metabiota.