Jane White, Department of Mathematical Sciences, and Rachael Carkett, Centre for Learning and Teaching, have both been given an award under the National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) Scheme.

The scheme, run by Advance HE, recognises individuals who have made an impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. The award has been running since 2000, with up to 55 individuals receiving the award each year.

Andy Pitchford, Head of Learning and Teaching at the Centre for Learning and Teaching said of the wins:

The Advance HE National Teaching Fellowship is the most significant UK award for individuals who achieve excellence in teaching. Jane and Rachael fully deserve this recognition, and both have a long track record of innovation, sharing best practice and supporting others in their development. These awards bring the number of National Teaching Fellows at the University into double figures, which in turn reflects the excellent reputation of the institution for learning and teaching.

Alison Johns, Advance HE’s chief executive, said:

Congratulations to all our 2019 winners of these two prestigious, national awards.

Becoming a National Teaching Fellow or winning CATE team is a huge achievement. It can be truly life-changing. Creating ambassadors for innovative and impactful teaching who are valued by institutions and colleagues, and who can set in motion change and enhancements to make a really positive impact on student experience and outcomes across their institution and beyond.

Advance HE looks forward to working with the winners to help to disseminate their work for the benefit of all.

Read more about the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme including winner profiles.