Skip to main content

Peter Troughton Research Staff Prize Committee terms of reference

Terms of reference for the Peter Troughton Research Staff Prize Committee, including its primary responsibilities and procedural rules.

Terms Of Reference

Terms of reference

  • To consider nominations for the annual Peter Troughton Research Staff Prize, creating a shortlist of finalists (usually 4) to present their research at a dedicated event, and to award the winner.
  • To recommend to Senate the criteria for prize nominations.
  • To apply the prize criteria fairly and consistently, addressing unconscious bias and ensuring that decisions are consistent with equality, diversity and inclusion considerations.
  • To approve revoking prizes to individuals where situations may arise post-award.
  • To make an annual report to Senate on the Committee’s activity.
  • To conduct a biennial effectiveness review.


A member may serve for no more than a total of nine (9) years save in exceptional cases
Chair: A Pro-Vice-Chancellor or nominee
Ex-officio members: All member of the Committee are ex-officio. This includes the Academic Director of the Doctoral College, Director of the Doctoral College and Associate PVC Research (Doctoral); the Associate Deans for Research from the School of Management, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Engineering and Design and Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; the previous year's prize winner and the Chair of the Research Staff Working Group.

All new members are subject to the approval of the Vice-Chancellor, which shall be reported to Senate.

Attendance: Any other staff members, at the discretion of the Chair
Secretary: Secretary and member of the Governance Team

Procedural rules

In the absence of any specific rules, the procedure is as set out in the Standing Orders of Senate.
Quorum: One-third of membership, three voting members
Frequency of meetings: One meeting and one presentation event per year
Minutes: Submitted to members and decisions are reported to Senate

Version information

Owner: Peter Troughton Research Staff Prize Committee
Version number: 2
Approval Date: 8 June 2022, updated 19 April 2023
Approved By: Senate
Date of last review: 19 April 2023


Read more about the Peter Troughton Research Staff Prize.


If you have any questions, please contact us.

On this page