Skip to main content
University of Bath

Emma O'Shea Applications Adviser

One-to-one application advice appointments for feedback on applications and CVs


  • I offer one-to-one advice and support for students and graduates on CVs, cover letters, personal statements and application questions.
  • I design and deliver group workshops and webinars on CVs, application forms and cover letters.
  • I write blogs and careers resources on all things applications/CVs.


I joined Careers in 2013 as an Information Officer, providing information and support to students and graduates accessing Careers. Before this I worked in the Department of Education at the University of Bath, administering Initial Teacher Education Programmes and advising applicants on how to apply for teacher training courses. Before coming into HE I had a range of different jobs in a variety of sectors, including property management, hospitality and local government.

I trained as an Applications Adviser in 2019 when I realised that working directly with students was the favourite part of my job and I wanted to do more of it. What I most enjoy about being an Adviser is helping those students who don't have much support with these things and then seeing their realisation that they don't have to go through the scary process of application writing alone! I wish I had known about this kind of support when I was a student because I recognise how daunting it can be to create a CV and apply for jobs.

Outside of work, I am pretty busy raising small children but when time permits, I enjoy learning languages, crafting, mindfulness meditation, walking and swimming in the sea. I am part of the Wellbeing Champions Network for university staff because I think that considerations of mental health and wellbeing should be absolutely fundamental to everything we do. I love reading books which support my wellbeing and listening to French podcasts. I am quite determined and love a difficult challenge; I have recently rekindled my love of figure skating, which is not so easy now I'm in my 40s. One of my strangest but proudest achievements is having cycled over 700 miles through Europe before settling in Sweden for 18 months and learning to speak the language while working as a cleaner, and eventually at Burger King (when my Swedish was good enough!).


I have a degree in History from Bath Spa University.