Skip to main content

Active Building Centre

We are contributing to the development and construction of Active Buildings, which produce more energy than they use.


£36 million

Project status

In progress


1 Sep 2018 to 1 Mar 2022

The Active Building Centre (ABC) is one of two hubs funded through the Transforming Construction Industrial Challenge. The ABC is a national collaboration among leading universities and companies.

The ABC will revolutionise the way we design, construct and operate buildings in the UK. It will do this by integrating advanced offsite manufacturing with state-of-the-art digital design. This will include incorporating and integrating energy generation, storage and release technologies to create active buildings that substantially reduce both the operational costs of buildings and their demand on the UK energy infrastructure.

The ABC will be a national centre of excellence, catalysing a revolution in smart buildings and energy sharing. It will bring together, energy, construction, government and research to deploy and scale-up active buildings and communities. It will involve clustered demonstration facilities on a variety of building typologies. And a pipeline of several thousand buildings will be considered by supporting companies and organisations.

Our team at Bath involves collaboration across the Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering (Professor David Coley, Dr Stephen Allen, Daniel Fosas de Pando and Elli Nikolaidou) and the Department of Psychology (Dr Ian Walker).

Our university partners:

  • Swansea University
  • Cardiff University
  • Imperial College London
  • University of Sheffield
  • Newcastle University
  • Loughborough University
  • University College London
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Nottingham

Our commercial collaborators:

  • Tata Steel UK
  • Pilkington Group Ltd
  • Hale
  • BIPVCo
  • Wernick
  • City and County of Swansea
  • United Welsh
  • AkzoNobel UK
  • Cisco Systems UK
  • PA Consulting Group
  • Sero Energy
  • Arup (Ove Arup and Partners Ltd) (UK)
  • Powell Dobson
  • Neath Port Talbot County
  • Coastal Housing Group
  • GridDuck
  • HTA Design LLP
  • Siemens PLC
  • Sheffield City Council
  • Welsh Government
  • Greater London Authority (GLA)
  • Bere Architects