Skip to main content
University of Bath

University Doctoral Studies Committee (UDSC)

We are responsible for the academic standards and coordination of doctoral study.

We are responsible to Senate for strategic coordination, the maintenance of high academic standards and the continuous improvement of the student experience for all doctoral study, including taught components of doctoral programmes and all Doctoral Training Entities.

You can read the full responsibilities of the committee in the terms of reference.

Find out about our meeting dates and read the minutes of our meetings.

Find our deadlines for submitting papers in the 2023/24 academic year

Committee members

    • Professor Sarah Hainsworth, (Chair), Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research), term of office ex-officio
    • Dr Rachel Arnold, Deputy Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Doctoral), term of office ex-officio
    • Professor Julie Barnett, Associate Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research), term of office ex-officio
    • Doctoral College Head of Department, term of office ex officio TBC
    • Dr Emma Carmel, Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, term of office ex-officio
    • Professor Chris Bowen, Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Engineering & Design, term of office ex-officio
    • Dr Tim Rogers, Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Science, term of office ex-officio
    • Professor Andrew Brown, Associate Dean (Research) School of Management, term of office ex-officio
    • Jura Neverauskaite, SU Postgraduate Officer, term of office ex-officio
    • One student per faculty/school elected by the SU and one student from the doctoral student community, term of office ex-officio

Routine attendees