Our alumni

Our alumni have achieved success in a range of fields - these are just some examples of the many former students who have gone on to achieve great things. We also create a number of honorary graduates each year in recognition of their outstanding contribution to society or academia.

If you are a past student and would like to get in touch please contact our alumni team.

Arts & media
Business & tech


Douglas Altman

Professor Douglas G. Altman - Founder and Director of Centre for Statistics in Medicine and Cancer Research UK Medical Statistics Group.

Tony Kendle

Tony Kendle - Creative Director at the Eden Project responsible for overseeing the education programme, science outreach and horticulture.

Datuk Salleh

Professor Datuk Mohamed Salleh - Founding Director of the United Nations University International Institute for Global Health (UNU-IIGH).

Dr Raymond F. Schinazi

Dr Raymond F. Schinazi - Widely recognised for his contributions in the field of HIV and hepatitis B. More than 90% of HIV-infected individuals in the United States take one of the drugs he invented.

David Skrbina

Dr David Skrbina - Pioneer of ecophilosophy, Professor of Philosophy at the University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Florence Muringi Wambugu

Florence Muringi Wambugu - World expert in plant biotechnology. She is known for her advocacy of using biotechnology to increase food production in Africa.

Arts and media

Ash Atalla

Ash Atalla - TV producer responsible for producing The Office, The IT Crowd and Man Stroke Woman.

Mark Hawkins

Mark Hawkins - Former Chief Executive and Managing Director of international content company The Moment.

Simon Pitts

Simon Pitts - Managing Director for Online, Pay TV, Interactive & Technology at ITV.

Katherine Roberts

Katherine Roberts - Author, best known for her fantasy trilogy The Echorium Sequence.

Sue Ryan

Sue Ryan - Media consultant, Director of the Henley Literary Festival and former Managing Editor of the Daily Telegraph.

Nigel Sharrocks

Nigel Sharrocks - Non-Executive Chairman of Digital Cinema Media. Formerly Chief Executive Officer of Aegis Media Global Brands and former Managing Director of Warner Bros where he oversaw the release of the Harry Potter and Matrix franchises.

Stewart Till CBE

Stewart Till CBE - Chief Executive Officer of Sonar Entertainment, former Chairman and Chief Executive of United International Pictures.

Business and technology

Simon Willison and Natalie Down

Natalie Down and Simon Willison - Co-founders of social conference directory Lanyrd.

Sir Robert Fry

Lieutenant General Sir Robert Fry KCB, CBE - Chairman of Albany Associates. Former Executive Chairman of the McKinney Rogers Group and CEO of Hewlett Packard's defence and security business. Served as Commandant General Royal Marines.

Neil Holloway

Neil Holloway - Vice-President of US Dynamics at Microsoft.

Sir Julian Horn-Smith

Sir Julian Horn-Smith - Former Chief Operating Office of Vodafone. In 2004 he received a knighthood in the Queen's Birthday Honours for his services to international telecommunications.

Justin King CBE

Justin King CBE - Vice-Chairman and Head of Portfolio Businesses at Terra Firma. Former Chief Executive Officer of Sainsbury's and Director of Food at Marks and Spencer.

Tom Pellereau

Thomas Pellereau - Inventor, winner of the seventh series of The Apprentice, creator of the Stylfile collection of curved nail files.

Bob Wigley

Bob Wigley - Investor, Chairman of Tantalum.

Government, charity and public policy

David Bull

David Bull CBE - Former Executive Director of UNICEF UK and Director of Amnesty International's UK section.

David Carpenter

David Carpenter - Former Director of the National Lottery Sports Fund. He was instrumental in developing and directing sports funding from grass-roots to elite performance.

Sir Stephen Gary George Dalton

Air Chief Marshall Sir Stephen Dalton GCB - Former Chief of the Air Staff, the professional head of the Royal Air Force.

Don Foster

Don Foster, Baron Foster of Bath - Member of the House of Lords and former Liberal Democrat MP for Bath.

Sandra Gidley

Sandra Gidley - Former Liberal Democrat MP for Romsey. Chair of the Royal Phrmaceutical Society.

Yang Jiechi

Yang Jiechi - State Councillor and former Foreign Minister of the People's Republic of China. Previously served as Ambassador in the United States.

Tony Kerpel OBE

Tony Kerpel MBE - Adviser to President de Klerk in South Africa in 1993-1994 during transition to black majority rule.

Belinda Phipps

Belinda Phipps - Chair of the Fawcett Society.


Steve Borthwick

Steve Borthwick - England forwards coach. Played rugby for Bath and Saracens and captained the senior England rugby union team between 2008 and 2010.

Kelly Gallagher

Kelly Gallagher MBE - Winner of the first ever gold medal for Britain on snow. Kelly and her guide Charlotte Evans won the visually-impaired Alpine Skiing Super G slalom event at the 2014 Sochi Olympic Games.

Kate Howey

Kate Howey MBE - One of Britain's greatest judokas, she represented Great Britain at four Olympic Games, winning bronze at Barcelona in 1992 and silver in Sydney in 2000. She was selected to carry the British flag at the opening ceremony of the 2004 Olympics in Athens.

Sam Weale

Michael Jamieson - Silver medallist for Scotland in the 200m breaststroke at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. This was followed by silver at the London 2012 Olympic Games – breaking the 200m breaststroke British record in all three of his swims.

Barry Scollo

Samantha Murray - Olympic silver medallist in the Modern Pentathlon at London 2012. She secured her place on the team by winning individual bronze at the 2012 World Championships in Rome.

Marilyn Okoro

Marilyn Okoro - 400m and 800m runner who made her Olympic debut in Beijing 2008 and represented England at the 2006, 2010 and 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Ben Rushgrove

Ben Rushgrove - Won silver in the T36 100m event at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games and bronze in the T36 200m at the 2012 Paralympics.

Heather Stanning

Heather Stanning MBE - Olympic gold medallist for coxless pair rowing in 2012 and 2016. Heather also won gold medals in the 2014 and 2015 World Championships.

Amy Williams

Amy Williams MBE - Former skeleton racer who won gold at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver and silver in the 2009 World Championships.