Department of Chemistry

MICRA2016 - Meeting of Inorganic Chemists Recently Appointed

University of Bath,
5-7 September 2016

The Meeting of Inorganic Chemists Recently Appointed (MICRA2016) is a biennial event that brings together the UK’s community of early career researchers in inorganic chemistry. This includes postdoctoral researchers seeking a career in academia and Research Fellows, Lecturers and Readers roughly within their first five years of independence. More experienced colleagues are welcome to attend as well, though priority will be given to early career researchers.

The aim is to strengthen the UK’s inorganic community by helping junior academics to develop into successful, independent researchers through exchange of experiences and networking.


Each participant is expected to deliver a short talk on their background and current field of research. There will be ample room for discussions and networking during the programme and surrounding social activities.

Please email your abstract to using the abstract template. The deadline for submission was 11 June 2016.

Some established researchers of high standing are also invited to reflect on their own career and share advice on how to become a successful academic. In addition, representatives of important national institutions will participate to advise on available resources.


The conference will start informally with a welcome barbecue on the evening of Sunday 4 September and will end around 3pm on Wednesday 7 September. A detailed programme is now available (PDF). 

Confirmed guests:

  • Dr Simon Coles (Director of the UK National Crystallography Service)
  • Dr Richard Walker (Public Affairs and Engagement Manager of the RSC)
  • Professor Emma Raven (President of the Dalton Division of the RSC)
  • Dr Eleanor Jaskowska (EPSRC Portfolio Manager of Synthetic Coordination Chemistry)
  • Dr Andrew Shore (Executive Editor, Dalton Transactions)

Plenary talks:

  • Dr Adrian Chaplin (University of Warwick) *RSC Award Lecture*
  • Professor Paul Raithby (University of Bath)
  • Professor Robert Crabtree (Yale University) *Honorary Degree Award Lecture*
  • Professor Philip Power (University of California, Davis) *Honorary Degree Award Lecture*


The registration fee of ₤100 includes three nights accommodation on campus (with en-suite facilities) including breakfast and dinner.

Registration is now closed.


MICRA heavily depends on the support of our generous sponsors. Sincere thanks go to the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and the University of Bath as main supporters as well as a number of industrial sponsors.

50th-anniversary-logo csct-logo-216 rsc-logo 
 advion-logo  Alvatek logo  Asynt logo








 MBraun Logo





Organising committee

Dr Antoine Buchard and Dr Ulrich Hintermair

For any queries or further information please contact

To stay up to date register for the MICRA2016 mailing list