In 2025, Easter will be observed on Sunday 20 April. Local schools will be closed from Monday 7 April to Monday 21 April, reopening on Tuesday 22 April (the day after Easter bank holiday Monday). As such, Senate has agreed to align our Easter vacation period so that the University Easter vacation also ends on Monday 21 April.

All full-time staff are entitled to eight bank holidays and five discretionary days when the University is closed. Our University Easter discretionary day typically takes place on the Tuesday following the Easter weekend. However, as this falls outside the school holidays and the University vacation next year, we have made the decision to move the date to sit within the holiday/vacation period.

Therefore, we will be changing our discretionary day to Thursday 17 April 2025, the day before Good Friday, with normal working arrangements resuming on Tuesday 22 April.

Find out more about annual leave entitlements, bank and discretionary holidays.