The announcement for the IPR includes the Directors of Policy Exchange, Centre Forum, and the Institute for Public Policy Research. Ahead of next year's General Election, it marks the first time the heads of the three think-tanks that lead innovation across the political spectrum have come together in this way.

By bridging the worlds of academic research, policy and professional practice, the IPR model represents a significant change in how the worlds of policy and research interact. In a short space of time, since its formation in February 2013, the IPR has already produced a number of successful innovations across different policy themes, and now plans a significant expansion of its activities.

In May, Lord John Eatwell was appointed Chair of the Advisory Board.

Other high-profile Advisory Board appointments announced include: Sir David King (the Foreign Secretary's Special Representative for Climate Change); The Rt Revered Peter Price (former Bishop of Bath and Wells); Mats Karlsson (Director of the Swedish Institute for International Affairs); Lord Tugendhat (former EU Commissioner); Ceridwen Roberts (Senior Research Fellow at Oxford University and Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales); and Professor Judith A K Howard CBE FRS.

Commenting ahead of the Board's first meeting next Tuesday, Lord Eatwell said: “Policy makers need to learn how to make better use of university research, and universities need to learn how better to translate ideas into policy. The University of Bath’s Institute for Policy Research will contribute to both objectives across the spectrum of disciplines from the social sciences to the sciences and engineering, and applied mathematics.”

IPR Director, Professor Hugh Lauder, added: "Across the many policy challenges we face, locally, nationally or internationally, the need for inter-disciplinary research is clear to see. So too is the need for stronger collaborations across the political divide, and between different agencies. Today's IPR appointments mark an important step in better using the UK's research potential in how we formulate and evaluate future public policy."

For more on the IPR see

First Header Second Header
Lord John Eatwell (Chair) President of Queens’ College, Cambridge
Dean Godson Director, Policy Exchange
Professor Judith Howard, CBE, FRS Dept. of Chemistry, Durham University
Mats Karlsson Director, The Swedish Institute of International Affairs
Sir David King Special Representative for Climate Change, Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Professor Hugh Lauder Director, IPR
Professor Stephen Lee Director, Centre Forum
Professor Jane Millar, OBE FBA FAcSS Pro-Vice–Chancellor Research, University of Bath
Nick Pearce Director, IPPR
The Rt Revd Peter Price Former Bishop of Bath & Wells
Ceridwen Roberts, OBE FAcSS Senior Research Fellow, Oxford University Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales, FLSW
Lord Christopher Tugendhat Former Chancellor, University of Bath, and former EU Commissioner

If you found this interesting, you might also enjoy reading: