Three new Heads of academic departments have been appointed for the new academic year.

Dr Marianne Ellis has been appointed Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering from 1 August 2019, following on from Professor Tim Mays.

Professor Neil McHugh is the new Head of the Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology from 1 Aug 2019, taking on the role from Professor Stephen Ward.

Professor Mike Fraser takes up the role of Head of the Department of Computer Science on 1 October 19, following on from Professor Eamonn O’Neill. Mike joins us from University of Bristol where he is Professor of Human-Computer Interaction.

Four colleagues were also reappointed as Heads of Department: Professor Stephen Emmitt in the Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering; Dr Adrian Evans, Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering; Professor Greg Maio, Department of Psychology; and Professor Joe Devine, Department of Social & Policy Sciences.