Summarising three years' work in just three minutes may sound like no mean feat. But it’s the task our postgraduate researchers face this weekend as they step out for the University’s Three Minute Thesis Final taking place on Saturday as part of the University of Bath Festival.

After our on-campus heats at the end of March, two finalists from each Faculty and the School of Management will each compete for the year’s 3MT crown.

This year’s finalists are Parimala Shivaprasad, Katarzyna Smug, Tamsyn Hawken, Alison Douthwaite, Rweyemamu Ndibalema, Severina Iankova, Emma Sackville and Philip Hamann.

Covering an array of different themes, our eight finalists will speak on topics as diverse as including harnessing molecular catalysts for energy conversion, improving the experiences of young carers, creating new sustainable materials, and improving business practice by marketing via social media.

Come along, get inspired and support our eight finalists at the event which takes place in the Chancellors’ Building 2.6 from 2.30pm to 3.30pm.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost, Professor Bernie Morley, who will head up the judging panel for the Final, said: “The 3MT is a fantastic initiative that really challenges our PhD students to summarise and explain their work and why it matters quickly.

“Learning how to break down complex subjects and explain them to non-expert audiences in an entertaining and captivating way is such an important skill for any researcher. Wherever their careers take them, having developed this ability will stand our 3MT finalists in very good stead.

“The 3MT is always a highlight of my year and I encourage everyone to come along on Saturday to hear more from our PhD finalists.”

All the finalists were given access to specialist coaching, arranged by the Researcher Development Unit, to hone their presentation and delivery skills, to help prepare them for the final.

The winner will receive the 3MT Shield plus £150 of Amazon vouchers. The runner-up will receive the 3MT Cup and £50 Amazon vouchers. Winners will be announced at the event.