The Medal rewards outstanding service to the University by individuals who have made a valuable contribution to its life and work that is not directly academic in nature. It is open to any individual who has supported the University and promoted its strategies and development in a significant and dedicated way.

The award is made by the Chancellor at the University's summer awards ceremonies.

Criteria and eligibility

To be eligible for the award of the Medal, an individual must have given outstanding service to the University, usually over a long period of time. The Medal will not normally be awarded to employees of the University for whom mechanisms already exist for recognising their service.


Nominations will be considered by the Honorary Degrees Committee, which will make a recommendation to Senate.

Past recipients

Past recipients of the award are:

  • Mr W B Stead
  • Dr R W Holder
  • Sir Basil Blackwell
  • Mrs M Wheadon
  • Sir Donal Maitland
  • the Venerable John Burgess
  • Mr D Embleton
  • the Hon Mrs Sara Morrison
  • Cllr Mrs Marian McNeir
  • Mr Jeremy Thring
  • Mr Andrew Fraser
  • Mr Keith Woodley
  • Mr David Medlock
  • Mrs Ruth Foreman

Other awards

Other awards considered by the Honorary Degrees Committee are as follows:

  • Honorary Doctorate Degrees are academic awards celebrating excellence in thought-leadership and the resulting impact, in a field that is recognised nationally or internationally.
  • Honorary Master’s Degrees are academic awards celebrating University staff who have made exceptional and direct contributions to the life of the University community, as perceived by its community.