Terms of Reference

Approved by Senate 11 November 1992.

The nominated student should have demonstrated academic excellence, together with a contribution to the life, academic reputation and general work of the University. The committee will bear in mind the availability of other awards (academic prizes, sporting, musical and artistic awards/prizes and for service to the community); additionally, officers of the Students' Union may already have been seen to be honoured by their election to these posts.

Supporting documents and references from sources outside the nominee's Department will be accepted and considered by the Chancellor's Prize Committee in the selection process. Personal Tutors, Directors of Studies or Heads of Department/School of Management may be approached for further information before a final decision is made.

Procedures Rules

Appointment of Chair: Vice-Chancellor or nominee

Membership: Three Professors to represent different academic disciplines, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor, plus President of the Students' Union (by invitation)

Co-option: See Senate Standing Orders 16(ii) and (iii)

Alternates: See Senate Standing Orders 17(iii) and (iv)

Rules for Voting: None specified

Minutes: Submitted to members and decisions reported to Senate.