Skip to main content

Chancellor's Prize

Awarded to the best final year undergraduate student.


The Chancellor's Prize was established in 1992 through the generosity of Lord Kearton, the University's second Chancellor. It is awarded on an annual basis to the best final year undergraduate student. The value of the prize is £1,500 and it will be presented at the winner's award ceremony in the summer.

Award criteria and eligibility

The prize is open to final year undergraduate students.

Nominated students should demonstrate:

1) academic excellence

2) a contribution to the academic reputation of the University

3) a contribution to the general work and life of the University and Community

4) a strong reference

The Chancellor's Prize Committee will bear in mind the availability of other awards (academic, sports, music, the arts and service to the community).

Making a nomination

Nominations should be made by a member of University staff. The Committee welcomes self-nominations; however, these should be written in third person and supported with a reference from the nominee’s Tutor, Head of Department, Director of Studies or any other member of staff within the nominee’s department/School.

Full guidance is included within the nomination form.

Nominations for the 2024 prize have now closed. Nominations for the 2025 prize will open in Spring 2025.

Past winners

See past years' winners.

On this page