Terms of reference

Approved by Senate, 5 December 1990.

The committee will judge the nominations for the prize on two elements, the written submission from the student and their Head of Department and an oral presentation by the student. The committee will explore reasons why the students' contribution to their particular research is outstanding and its wider significance.

Procedural rules

Appointment of Chair

A Pro-Vice-Chancellor.


  • a professor nominated by the Vice-Chancellor
  • the Chair of the University Doctoral Studies Committee (or a member of the committee appointed by the Chair), provided that no two members come from the same department


The committee shall have the power to co-opt additional members or to invite Assessors to be present at any meeting.


See Senate Standing Orders 17(iii) and (iv).


One third of the membership Senate Standing Order 16.

Rules for voting

None specified.


Submitted to members and decisions reported to Senate.