University of Bath

Health and Safety Committee

The Health & Safety Committee reports to the University’s Executive Committee.

The Health & Safety Committee reports to the University’s Executive Committee. Its role is to be assured that a suitable and sufficient health and safety management system is in place for the protection and prevention of all those who may be affected by the University's activities. This includes monitoring performance in respect of health, safety and wellbeing; considering, and taking action as appropriate on, reports from staff representatives; and approving Health & Safety policies, standards and guidance where these do not require the approval of the Executive Committee.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.


    Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

    Name Position Term of Office
    Mr Mark Humphriss University Secretary, Chair ex-officio
    Mr Richard Brooks Director of Human Resources* ex-officio
    Mr Mark Martin Deputy Director of Estates ex-officio
    Mr Chris Young Head of University Health, Safety and Environment Service ex-officio
    Mr Malcolm Holley Faculty of Science Management Representative*
    Mr Brian Schofield Head of Security Services ex-officio
    Miss Sophie Hamer Assistant Facilities Manager, Sports Development and Recreation* ex-officio
    Mr Julian Sulley Faculty of Engineering and Design Management Representative* ex-officio
    Mr Andrew Nash Deputy Facilities Manager, Accommodation and Hospitality* ex-officio

Elected Trades Union Safety Representatives

    Name Union
    Dr Michael Carley UCU*
    Mr John Robbins UNITE*
    Professor Hartmut Logemann UCU*
    Mr Steve Nicholson UNISON*
    Mr James Paradise UNISON*

Elected Staff Representatives

    Name Department Term of Office
    Mr Ian Evans Operational and Facilities Support 2018
    Mr Walter Guy Technical and Experimental 2018
    Dr Mareike Posner Education and Research 2018
    Dr Chris Roche Management, Specialist and Administration 2018
    Miss Kimberly Pickett-Mcatackney SU Officer 2018


    • One or more other members of the UHS&E Service will attend the Committee's meetings as appropriate.
    • Alternates are permitted for those asterisked

Meeting date and minutes