- Student Records
Programme & Unit Catalogues

Components of a unit

Each unit within your programme will have:

1. A code

This code is unique to an individual unit. See the unit coding table for further information on the structure of unit codes.

2. A credit value

The majority of units are worth either 3, 6 or 12 credits with the possibility that project work, placement periods and dissertation units may have different values. These credits give an approximate workload for each unit.

3. A level

This indicates the level at which the unit will be studied. See the unit coding table for further information.

4. A period slot

This indicates when during the academic year the unit will run. For undergraduate units this will be either:

For postgraduate units the period slot may be any of the above or:

5. An assessment pattern

This shows how the unit will be assessed (e.g. whether you will have to produce coursework or take an exam in order to pass the unit). See the unit assessment table for a description of the different codes used.

6. Supplementary assessment information

This describes the type of supplementary assessment you will be required to undertake either for retrieval of failure or in the case of deferred assessment. Supplementary assessment will only be available to individual students where it is allowed by the regulations of the programme on which they are studying. Supplementary assessment will not be available for final year undergraduates unless the unit in question is a Designated Essential Unit for their programme of study.

6. Requisites

These are rules which may restrict which students the unit is available to (e.g. you may have to take one or more other units in order to enroll on this unit). See the Rules Table for an explanation of the different types of requisites used. NB. Not all units will have requisites.

7. A description

This will tell you what the Aims, Learning Outcomes, Skills and Content of the unit are.