Deleting unwanted social media accounts
The process for staff to delete a University social media account and archive the content.
Archive the account
You should review your social media accounts every year and archive any that you have not posted to for at least six months.
Before you delete the account, you should download the content so that the University has a record of what was said for auditing purposes.
1. Download the content
Find out how to download content and data from:
If you are closing down a Vimeo account, download the MP4 file for each video and save them in the shared folder.
2. Save the content
As soon as you have downloaded the content, save the file in the shared folder X:\Professional Services\Shared\Social Media Archive
If you do not have access to this folder, you can contact the IT Service Desk for help.
Delete the account
When you have downloaded and saved the content and data, you can delete the account.
Find out how to permanently delete a: