Statutory Bodies and Committees

The Chancellor's Prize

The Chancellor's Prize was established in 1992 through the generosity of Lord Kearton, the University's second chancellor. It is awarded annually to the best final year undergraduate student on the basis of the student demonstrating academic excellence together with a contribution to the life, academic reputation and general work of the University.

The winner of the 2017 prize is:

Emma Partridge, Chancellor\'s Prize Winner 2017

 Emma Partridge

Final Year BSc student - International Management and Modern Languages (German)

Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies

The Chancellor's Prize Committee was very impressed with the outstanding academic results that Emma has achieved throughout her degree programme including an excellent year abroad dissertation mark. Emma's contribution to the academic reputation of the University by undertaking very successful placements with tesa, spottster and Procter & Gamble, where her talent and performance were also recognised, was commended. In addition, she was elected as a 'Star Student' by the School of Management for contribution to extra-curricular activities and has been a loyal student ambassador and peer mentor. Emma's involvement with Code First Girls and her leadership of a student-led consulting group supporting social enterprises in Bath provided further evidence of her abilities. Again, she showed herself to be an exceptionally caring student through her initiative, led jointly with fellow students, to set up support for Syrian Refugee Families in Bath. Emma has displayed both exceptional academic strength and a breadth of campus and community involvement that is a great credit to herself and the University.

Past Winners

Year Name Department
2016 Ludi Wang Economics
2015 Jemima Tabeart Mathematical Sciences
2014 Cristina Dumitru Pharmacy and Pharmacology
2013 Yiannis Eftychiou Mechancial Engineering
2012 Kate Aldridge Physics
2011 Ben Lane Mechanical Engineering
2010 Ruth Fitzpatrick Psychology
2009 Susan Sadek Psychology
2008 Jack Mitchell European Studies and Modern Languages
2007 Fredrik Harboe Management
2006 Andrew Edwards and Rebecca Plappert (joint award) Physics
2005 Heather MacKenzie Pharmacy and Pharmacology
2004 Thomas Vincent Mechanical Engineering
2003 Stuart Snell Chemical Engineering
2002 Barrie Cooper Mathematical Sciences
2001 Hannah Spencer Sports and Exercise Science
  Andrew Leather Natural Sciences
  (joint award)  
2000 Damien Le Gresley Electronic and Electrical Engineering
1999 David Lawton Physics
1998 Adam English European Studies and Modern Languages
1997 Anjli Shah International Modern Languages
  Matthew Bowers Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  (joint award)  
1996 Gary Weston Electronic and Electrical Engineering
1995 Paul Lapworth Mechanical Engineering
1994 Abigail Stott Mathematical Sciences