The Doctoral College welcomed over 160 guests to its inaugural Doctoral Research Celebration Evening on Wednesday 14 June 2023 at Komedia. Funded by Research England through its Enhancing Research Culture Fund, the evening was an opportunity for students and staff to come together to celebrate community achievements. The evening included our annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition Final, the presentation of our Doctoral Recognition Awards and Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prizes, as well as opportunities to find out more about doctoral research and projects through our student showcase and further presentations.

Hosted by Prof Joe Devine, Associate Pro-Vice Chancellor (Doctoral) and Dr Rachel Arnold, Academic Director (Doctoral), both spoke highly of the contributions from those within our community:

'Doctoral programmes go far beyond just completing research projects. A large part of the doctoral journey is about connecting with an inclusive and ambitious learning community to develop both personally and professionally. Since starting in our roles this academic year, we have been hugely impressed with the excellent doctoral projects, initiatives, and contributions that are occurring across the University.'

We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to everyone who was able to join us at the event. In particular we would like to recognise the following individuals who were awarded prizes.

3MT Competition

3MT® celebrates the exciting research conducted by PhD students around the world. Developed by The University of Queensland, the competition cultivates academic, presentation, and research communication skills by challenging students to present their entire thesis - usually around 80,000 words - in just three minutes. Students are allowed to use one PowerPoint slide and no other resources.

Congratulations to Sarah Warbis, Department of Psychology who was the winner of both our Judges' Choice and Peoples' Choice award at the 3MT Final. Sarah's topic was 'Sexual assault in a 'just world': an immersive VR study of bystanders Sarah will go on to compete in the UK National Final hosted by Vitae. Congratulations and best wishes to Sarah.

We would also like to recognise the other 3MT finalists who competed on the evening and delivered some fantastic presentations:

  • Anna Conzatti, Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering - 'The future of shelter design: indoor air quality and natural ventilation'
  • Bethany Teale, Department of Life Sciences - 'Same science. Different approach.'
  • Joris Simaitis, Advanced Automotive Propulsion Systems (AAPS) Centre for Doctoral Training - 'A future where we can say... "We did it"'
  • Kareem Abushama, Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering - 'Foundations with minimum carbon emissions'
  • Visesh Vignesh, Department of Chemical Engineering - 'Destressing stress: developing rapid diagnostics for cortisol detection'

Doctoral Recognition Awards

The Doctoral Recognition Awards, organised by the Doctoral College, recognise students and staff who have made contributions to enhancing the doctoral student experience. Recipients of the 2023 awards can be found below:

Student Awards Staff Awards
Carmen van-de-l'Isle, Department of Mathematical Sciences (SAMBa CDT)​ Alexander Lunt, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Charlie Tennant, School of Management​ Aurelien Mondon, Department of Politics, Languages and International Studies
Clemence Bricker, Department of Mechanical Engineering​ Carol Taylor, Department of Education
Dan Zhao, Department of Education​ Clare Bannister and Kate Ehrig-Page, Library DoctoralSkills Team, Library
David McCurrach, Department of Education​ Danaë Stanton Fraser, Department of Psychology
Fadoua Govaerts, Department of Education​ David Ellis, School of Management
Frances Dawson, Department of Chemistry​ Janet Bultitude, Department of Psychology​
Hannah Hutton, School of Management​ Kate Cooper, Department of Psychology​
Jenny Power, Department of Mathematical Sciences (SAMBa CDT)​ Leda Blackwood, Department of Psychology​
Johanna Meyer, Department of Psychology​ Lee Moore, Department for Health​
Kayleigh Charlton, Department of Politics, Languages and International Studies (South West DTP)​ Lorraine Whitmarsh, Department of Psychology​
Lois Player, Department of Psychology (AAPS CDT)​ Nikki Coghill, Department for Health
Lucy Merrell, Department for Health (SWBio DTP)​ Nuno Reis, Department of Chemical Engineering
Michelle James, Department of Social and Policy Sciences (South West DTP)​ Peter Bradley, Library​
Nahory Hernandez Mancilla, Department for Health Pranav Singh, Department of Mathematical Sciences​
Nina Higson-Sweeney, Department of Psychology (South West DTP)​ Samantha Curle, Department of Education​
Pawel Rudnicki, Department of Mathematical Sciences​ Tina Skinner, Department of Social and Policy Sciences
Rachel Lees, Department of Psychology​Tom Freeman, Department of Psychology
Sarah Warbis, Department of Psychology​
Sean Garrett, Department of Politics, Languages and International Studies​
Sophie McNair, Department of Mechanical Engineering​
Thulya Chakkumpulakkal Puthan Veettil, Department of Chemistry (Bath-Monash Joint award)​
Tom Davies, Department of Chemical Engineering ​
Tosin Babasola, Department of Mathematical Sciences (SAMBa CDT)​
Vibhor Mathur, Department of Social and Policy Sciences​
Vienne Hiu Yi Lin, Department of Education​
Long Wu, Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering​
Victor Li, Department of Chemistry​

Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize

The Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize is awarded to a supervisor or supervisory team who has demonstrated exceptional performance in doctoral supervision.

Dr Tina Skinner, Department of Social and Policy Sciences was awarded the Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize 2023. Well done Tina.

Nominations that were highly commended include:

  • Prof Antoine Buchard, Department of Chemistry
  • Prof Davide Mattia, Prof John Chew and Dr Jannis Wenk (Group award), Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Dr Daniel Davies, School of Management