- Student Records
Programme & Unit Catalogues

Department of Computer Science, Programme Catalogue 2013/14

TSCM-AWM27: MSc Internet Systems and Security


Mode of attendance: Full-time incorporating placement

Year 1

Follow this link for further information on the NFAAR NFAAR-PGT assessment regulations for students commencing study from 2011/12 onwards (students who commenced prior to 2011/12 should consult their programme handbook for their assessment regulations):
  • This programme has the following designated alternative programme (DAP): PG Diploma
  • Assessment Regulations: Appendix 11 PDF format -requires Acrobat Reader to view
  • Programme progression requirement: 50%
  • Taught credits: 60; Dissertation/Project credits: 30

Semester 1: Taught Units

Compulsory Units:
CM50109 Formal methods & programming 12 Credits
CM50123 Networking 6 Credits
Optional Units: Select 2 units from the following list:
Options should be chosen in consultation with the Director of Studies
CM40212 Internet technology 6 Credits
CM50121 Safety critical systems 6 Credits
CM50206 Intelligent agents 6 Credits
ZZ50001 Director of Studies approved unit 6 Credits

Semester 2: Taught Units

Compulsory Units:
CM40179 Entrepreneurship 6 Credits
CM50175 Research project preparation 12 Credits
CM50209 Security and integrity 6 Credits
CM50210 Cryptography 6 Credits

Dissertation Period: Project/Dissertation Units

Compulsory Units:
CM50232 Placement research project 30 Credits

* This programme catalogue is applicable for the 2013/14 academic year only. Students continuing their studies into 2014/15 and beyond should not assume that later years of a programme will be in the format displayed here for 2013/14.
* Programmes and units are subject to change at any time, in accordance with normal University procedures.
* Availability of units will be subject to constraints such as staff availability, minimum and maximum group sizes, and timetabling factors as well as a student's ability to meet any pre-requisite rules.