Skip to main content

How units are coded

How the units that make up your course or programme of study are coded.


The codes assigned to units are made up of seven alphanumeric characters for ECTS units (for example, CH10005) and eight alphanumeric characters for CATS units (for example, MN500715).

Character position Function Values Definition
1& 2 Department code (2 characters): identifies the department or departments which contribute to the teaching of the unit AR Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering
BB Department of Biology & Biochemistry (Replaced by 'SL' with effect from 2023/4)
CE Department of Chemical Engineering
CH Department of Chemistry
CM Department of Computer Science
ED Department of Education
EE Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering
EL Skills Centre English Language units
ES Department of Economics
FL Skills Centre Foreign Languages units
HL Department for Health
LP Units administered by the Learning Partnerships Office.
LT Learning & Teaching Enhancement Office
MA Mathematical Sciences
ME Department of Mechanical Engineering
MN School of Management
PA Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology (Replaced by 'SL' with effect from 2023/4 )
PH Department of Physics
PL Department of Politics, Languages and International Studies
PS Department of Psychology
RP Postgraduate Skills Training (see the PGSkills website for further information)
TB TeamBath
SL Department of Life Sciences (Replaced 'BB' and 'PA' with effect from 2023/4)
SP Department of Social & Policy Sciences
XX Cross-department
Character position Function Values Definition
3 Level code: a technical coding element which indicates the level at which the unit is studied (see also the page describing different levels assigned to units) 0 Foundation (or non-credit bearing)
1 Certificate
2 Intermediate
3 Honours
4 Masters (offered to both Undergraduate & Postgraduate students)
5 Masters (offered on Postgraduate programmes)
6 Doctoral
Character position Function Values Definition
4 - 7 or 8 Numeric identifier (4 or 5 characters): used to identify particular units within a group that otherwise has common characteristics of department and level ECTS units have four numeric characters. CATS units have five numeric characters. This element should be assumed to have no intrinsic significance. Within the group of units which have the following common characteristics, for example: Department of Mathematical Sciences; Honours level (MA3 ...) the number at the end only serves to separate different individual units.

Go back to a webpage


If you have any questions, please contact us.

On this page