Skip to main content

Our notable alumni

Read about former students who have gone on to achieve great things in business, politics, sports, arts and academia.



  • Professor Douglas G. Altman is founder and Director of the Centre for Statistics in Medicine as well as the Cancer Research UK Medical Statistics Group. He is also the Senior statistics editor for the British Medical Journal.

  • Tony Kendle is Creative Director at the Eden Project and responsible for overseeing their education programme, science outreach and horticulture.

  • Dr Jonathan Milner is co-founder of the business Abcam, which produces and sells protein research tools. He donated £5 million towards establishing the Milner Centre for Evolution on the University of Bath campus.

  • Professor Mohamed Salleh Mohamed Yasin was Founding Director of the United Nations University International Institute for Global Health (UNU-IIGH).

  • Professor Dame Fiona Powrie FRS is Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences and Director of the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, University of Oxford. She was appointed Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE) in 2022, for services to medical science.

  • Professor Jamie Rossjohn FRS is a Professor at the Biomedicine Discovery Institute, Faculty of Medicine at Monash University and has made contributions to the understanding of the molecular bases underpinning protective and aberrant T cell immunity.

  • Dr Raymond F. Schinazi is a scientist who is widely recognised for his contributions in the field of HIV and hepatitis B. More than 90% of HIV-infected individuals take at least one of the drugs he invented.

  • Dr David Skrbina is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Helsinki and a pioneer of ecophilosophy.

  • Dr Florence Muringi Wambugu is a global expert in plant biotechnology. She is known for her advocacy of using biotechnology to increase food production in Africa.

Arts and media

  • Ash Atalla is a TV producer responsible for producing The Office, The IT Crowd and Man Stroke Woman.

  • Mark Hawkins is former Chief Executive and Managing Director of international content company The Moment.

  • Simon Pitts is Managing Director for Online, Pay TV, Interactive & Technology at ITV.

  • Katherine Roberts is an author, best known for her fantasy trilogy The Echorium Sequence.

  • Sue Ryan is a media consultant, Director of the Henley Literary Festival and former Managing Editor of the Daily Telegraph.

  • Nigel Sharrocks is Non-Executive Chairman of Digital Cinema Media, former CEO of Aegis Media Global Brands and former Managing Director of Warner Bros where he oversaw the release of the Harry Potter and Matrix franchises.

  • Stewart Till CBE is CEO of Sonar Entertainment and former Chairman and Chief Executive of United International Pictures.

Business and technology

  • Natalie Down and Simon Willison are co-founders of the social conference directory Lanyrd.

  • Lieutenant General Sir Robert Fry KCB, CBE is Chairman of Albany Associates, former Executive Chairman of the McKinney Rogers Group and former CEO of Hewlett Packard's defence and security business. He also served as Commandant General Royal Marines.

  • Neil Holloway is Senior Vice President of Business Development at Skytap. He is former Vice President of Microsoft Dynamics US.

  • Sir Julian Horn-Smith is former COO of Vodafone. He received a knighthood in 2004 in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for his services to international telecommunications.

  • Nick Hynes is President and co-founder of digital transformation agency, Somo Global, and Chairman of Reward - one of the UK and Europe's largest loyalty businesses.

  • Justin King CBE is former CEO of Sainsbury’s and Director of Food at Marks and Spencer. He is currently Vice-Chairman and Head of Portfolio Businesses at Terra Firma.

  • Thomas Pellereau is an inventor and the winner of the seventh series of The Apprentice in 2011. He created the Stylfile collection of curved nail files.

  • Bob Wigley is an investor and Chairman of Tantalum.

Government, charity and public policy

  • David Bull CBE is former Executive Director of UNICEF UK and former Director of Amnesty International’s UK section.

  • David Carpenter is former Director of the National Lottery Sports Fund. He was instrumental in developing and directing sports funding from grassroots to elite performance.

  • Air Chief Marshall Sir Stephen Dalton GCB is former Chief of the Air Staff, the professional head of the Royal Air Force.

  • Don Foster, Baron Foster of Bath is a member of the House of Lords and former Liberal Democrat MP for Bath.

  • Sandra Gidley is a former Liberal Democrat MP for Romsey and Chair of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.

  • Yang Jiechi is State Councillor and former Foreign Minister of the People's Republic of China. Previously he served as Ambassador in the United States.

  • Tony Kerpel MBE was an adviser to President de Klerk in South Africa in 1993 and 1994 during the transition to black majority rule.

  • Belinda Phipps is Chair of the Fawcett Society.


  • Steve Borthwick is a former international rugby player and currently England forwards coach. He played for Bath, Saracens and captained the senior England Rugby Union team between 2008 and 2010.

  • Kelly Gallagher MBE is the winner of the first ever gold medal for Britain on snow. She won the visually impaired Alpine Skiing Super G slalom event at the 2014 Sochi Games together with her guide Charlotte Evans.

  • Kate Howey MBE is one of Britain’s greatest judokas. She won a bronze medal at the Barcelona Olympics in 1992, a silver medal in Sydney in 2000 and has represented Great Britain at four Olympic Games. She also carried the British flag at the opening ceremony of the 2004 Olympics in Athens.

  • Michael Jamieson is a Scottish swimmer who won a silver medal in the 200m breaststroke at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. He also won a silver medal at the 2012 Olympic Games in London where he broke the British 200m breaststroke record in all three of his swims.

  • Samantha Murray is a modern pentathlete who won a silver medal at the London 2012 Olympic Games and a bronze at the 2012 World Championships in Rome.

  • Marilyn Okoro is a 400m and 800m runner who made her Olympic debut in Beijing in 2008 and represented England at the 2006, 2010 and 2014 Commonwealth Games.

  • Ben Rushgrove was a silver medalist in the T36 100m event at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games and a bronze medalist in the T36 200m at the 2012 Paralympics.

  • Heather Stanning MBE was an Olympic gold-medalist for coxless pair rowing, winning in 2012 and 2016. She also won gold medals in the 2014 and 2015 World Championships.

  • Amy Williams MBE is a former skeleton racer who won a gold medal at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver and a silver in the 2009 World Championships.

On this page