University of Bath

Make a nomination for the John Willis Award

Find out how to nominate someone for the award, the criteria and eligibility for entering, and the prize they could win.

How to nominate someone

Please note that nominations are no longer being accepted for 2018. Nominations will open again in early 2019.

Each year the John Willis Award is given to a member of staff in recognition of their dedication to the academic and personal lives of students combined with a significant contribution to teaching and accomplishment in research.

Nominations for the award may be submitted by students (graduate and undergraduate) and other members of academic staff. Self nominations are not accepted.

Submit a nomination form to recommend someone for for the John Willis Award.

Following receipt of the nomination form, nominees will be contacted to confirm their willingness to progress to the next stage. At this point, the following supporting statements will be requested:

  • nominees will be asked to produce a personal statement of up to 800 words in which they articulate their teaching and research philosophy and show how they provide pastoral support for their students.

  • supporting statements will be requested from the nominee’s Director of Studies and the relevant SSLC representatives.

Nominations and supporting statements will be considered by the University's Awards Committee in April.


Nominees must be able to demonstrate:

  • a good track record of research
  • a record of research-informed teaching
  • a strong commitment to pastoral care

For the research element:

We take a broad view of research and look for nominees who have proven research track record, evidenced by a substantial portfolio of articles published primarily in major journals or other outputs appropriate to the discipline, such as books, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc.

For the teaching element:

The candidate should be known for very good teaching or learning support which can be attested by evidence from a teaching profile or peer observation and feedback or in another form. This should include exceptional student feedback on teaching and evidence of the candidate’s commitment to pastoral care.

Nominees are required to demonstrate how their research is linked to their teaching.


Eligibility for this Award is restricted to those academics with ten or fewer years in an academic post.

Previous winners of the award will be eligible for nomination five years after the award was made.

Unsuccessful nominees may be nominated for the award in subsequent years.

The prize

The award winner will receive £750 in prize money.

In addition, the award winner's department will receive £1,500. The award winner can use this money to support their teaching or research.

If a joint award is made, the winners will each receive the £750 prize, but the Departmental award will be shared equally.

All nominees will be invited to attend an awards evening on 13 April 2018. This is a joint event with The SU Bath Academic Rep Awards.

Award winners will be presented with a certificate at the summer graduation ceremonies.

The prize money of £750 will be paid through the payroll and will be subject to PAYE.

Previous winners

Since 1995 this award has been presented to outstanding members of staff in recognition of their dedication to the pastoral care of students, their significant contribution to teaching and their accomplishment in research.

Find out more about our past award winners.


Professor John Willis was a member of the Department of Mathematical Sciences for 22 years.

He established an international reputation for his research in applied mathematics and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1991. He also became known throughout the University as committed to our students both in their formal education and their development as individuals.

Other teaching awards

Each year the University presents a number of awards to members of staff in recognition of their outstanding contribution to teaching and learning. Find out more about our other teaching awards.