University of Bath

Chancellor's Prize Committee

The committee awards the annual Chancellor's Prize for the best final year undergraduate student, made possible through the generosity of Lord Kearton.

Follwing an annual selection process, the Committee reports the selection of the prize-winner to Senate and the prize is awarded at the appropriate summer awards ceremony.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.

Committee membership

    Terms of office expire on 31 July in the year stated.

    Name Position Term of Office
    Professor J Swart Chair, School of Management 2019
    Professor C Taylor Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences 2021
    Professor P Walker Faculty of Engineering and Design 2020
    Professor A Burrows Faculty of Science 2019
    Ms E Alcock Students' Union President 2019


    The committee will normally meet in the Spring to consider nominations for the Prize and will confirm a shortlist of students. Finalists may be required to attend an interview to aid the committee with its decision-making on which student should receive the award.

    The minutes and summaries of meetings of the Chancellor's Prize are not published here because they contain information which the University has declared will not be routinely published under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Further information about the Act (including the reasons why such information is exempt from publication). If you have any queries about the business conducted by the committee, please contact Angela Pater