Charitable status

Exempt charity

The University of Bath was established in 1966 by Royal Charter.  Our Royal Charter Number is RC000644.  We are a chartered corporation and an exempt charity under the terms of the Charities Act 2006.

Our legal and preferred name is The University of Bath and our correspondence address is:

The University of Bath
Claverton Down

In accordance with the Charities Act 2006, the University is regulated by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE).

Constitutional documents

The main constitutional documents of the University are the Royal Charter and Statutes.

The Charter defines the objects, powers, officers and statutory bodies of the University. It defines the University as a teaching, research and examining body and includes such fundamental powers as those of awarding degrees.

The Statutes prescribe details concerning the members of the University, officers of the University, the membership and functions of statutory bodies (including Court, Council, and Senate), conditions of service which apply to academic staff of the University and other miscellaneous provisions (such as the service of documents and contracts).

The Charter and Statutes are supported by Ordinances, Regulations and Standing Orders.


The trustees of the University are members of the University Council.

For details of any other charities that Council members are trustees of you can download the Trustee Information.

Financial statements

View our full audited consolidated financial statements.