Charter and Statutes

The University of Bath was established in 1966 by Royal Charter. It is a chartered corporation and an exempt charity.

We are recognised by the British Government for the award of degrees. British Government Statutory Instrument 1999 No.833, the Education (Recognised Bodies) Order 1999 includes the University of Bath in its list of accredited Higher Education Institutions.

The constitution and governance of the University is regulated by the Charter, Statutes and Ordinances of the University.


The Charter defines the objects, powers, officers and statutory bodies of the University. It defines the University as a teaching, research and examining body and includes such fundamental powers as those of awarding degrees.

Download the Charter


The Statutes prescribe details concerning the members of the University, officers of the University, the membership and functions of statutory bodies (including Court, Council, and Senate), conditions of service which apply to academic staff of the University and other miscellaneous provisions (such as the service of documents and contracts).

Download the Statutes


The Ordinances give further details on the way in which the University is governed within the general framework of the Charter and Statutes.

Download the Ordinances


The Regulations regulate the academic work of the University, the education and discipline of its students, and such other matters as lie within the functions of Senate.

Download the Regulations