Running since 2013 the Vice-Chancellor’s Public Engagement with Research Awards were relaunched as the Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards. The Awards were redesigned in consultation with colleagues across the University of Bath to embrace the much broader range of engagement activities happening across the University of Bath today compared to back in 2013 and from 2019 will are run biennially.

The Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards aim to reward and celebrate the work of colleagues from across the University of Bath who are engaging non-academic audiences with their research.


  • Informing - Dr Sally Adams and Craig Gunn, Department of Psychology for their varied engagement work on the effects of alcohol hangovers on the way individuals think and behave.

  • Listening - Dr Alinka Gearon, Department of Social & Policy Sciences for her project that aimed to listen to and give voice to children and young people who had been trafficked to the UK.

  • Working together- Dr Jade Norris, Department of Psychology for her project improving the experiences of people with autism of services such as education and criminal justice.

  • Leadership - Dr Janet Bultitude, Department of Psychology leading the Department of Psychology to create a culture where public engagement is supported and nurtured.

  • Special Recognition Award - Dr Frances Laughton , Department of Physics, in recognition of her dedicated work leading the public engagement agenda within the Department of Physics.

Past award winners 2014-2018

Before relaunching in 2019 the Vice-Chancellor’s Public Engagement with Research Awards ran annually between 2013 and 2018 and invited researchers to submit a portfolio of public engagement activities. Two awards were presented, one for research staff and one for postgraduate researchers. Past winners included:


Staff Award - Dr Ventsislav Valev, Department of Physics

Postgraduate Prize - Bethan Charles, Department of Chemistry


Staff Award - Dr Afroditi Stathi, Department for Health

Postgraduate Prize - Daniela De Angeli, Department of Computer Science


Staff Award - Dr Kit Yates, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Postgraduate Prize - Jemma Rowlandson, Department of Chemical Engineering


Staff Award - Dr Sarah Bailey, Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology

Postgraduate Prize - Jon Chouler, Department of Chemical Engineering


Staff Award - Dr Paul Shepherd, Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering

Postgraduate Prize - Lisa Sargeant, Department of Chemical Engineering