University of Bath

Academic Assembly

Academic Assembly is the statutory body representing academic staff in the governance structure of the University.

The Academic Assembly may discuss and declare an opinion on any matter whatsoever relating to the University, including any matters referred to it by the Senate, and, if it so decides, submit resolutions to the Senate. (Section 22.4 of the Statutes).

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.


    Name Position Term of Office
    Dr J White Chair 31/07/2021
    Professor I White Vice-Chancellor ex-officio
    Professor B Morley Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost ex-officio
    Professor J Knight Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) ex-officio
    Professor J Bradshaw Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International and Doctoral) ex-officio
    Professor P Lambert Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching ex-officio
    Ms K Robinson University Librarian ex-officio

    **And all staff in the Education and Research Job Family (Senate minute 12827, 22nd October 2008)

    Nominations are now open for members of Academic Assembly to serve on Senate.

    Dr Jane White, Chair of Academic Assembly, welcomes your comments via

    Find out more about Academic Assembly's working group on accountability and transparency.

Dates of meetings and minutes