University of Bath

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

If you are from a Commonwealth country studying a full-time taught postgraduate master's (MSc) programme, you may be eligible for this scholarship.

About the scheme

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme (CSSS) is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and the University, to provide scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK.

Eligibility criteria

To apply for this scholarship scheme, you must come from one of the following eligible Commonwealth countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

You must also study one of the following full-time courses:

Applying for the scheme

If you are eligible for the scholarship scheme, you must submit your application in the Commonwealth EAS system.

You must also mention that you want to be considered for the award in the application form when you apply for your chosen course.


To be eligible you must have submitted an application to study at the University by 29 March 2018.

Further information about this scheme can be found on the Commonwealth Scholarship website.

Submit your application in the Commonwealth EAS system

If you are awarded a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship and you have submitted your dissertation for examination, you must return home within two weeks of completing your studies. Attending the graduation ceremony is not part of the award.