University of Bath

Nominations Committee

The committee considers nomination for membership of Council and its committees, members of Court and representation on external bodies.

Responsible for considering nominations for membership of Council and its Committees (including the key roles of Pro-Chancellor, Treasurer, Chair and Vice-Chair of Council), members of court appointed by Council and representation of the University on a number of external bodies.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.

Committee membership

    The term of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

    Name Position Term of Office
    Mrs P Chesters Chair, Chair of Council ex-officio
    Professor I White Vice-Chancellor ex-officio
    Dr J White Chair of Academic Assembly ex-officio
    Ms E Alcock Students' Union President ex-officio
    Professor D Galbreath Senior Member of Academic Staff, appointed by Chair 2020
    Professor B Gilbertson Lay Member of Council, elected by Council 2021
    Mrs R Foreman Lay Member of Council, elected by Council 2020
    VACANT Lay Member of Council, elected by Council 2022

    The following Officer routinely attends meetings of the committee, Ms A Pater.

    Note: Appointed and elected members are not eligible to continue as members until one year has elapsed from the date of completion of their term of membership (Council, 27th November 1998).

Dates of Meetings


    • 29 November 2018 - cancelled
    • 14 December 2018 - cancelled
    • 19 December 2018 - new date
    • 27 February 2019 - new date
    • 2 May 2019 - new date
    • 16 May 2019 - cancelled
    • 10 July 2019 - new date


    • 24 May 2018
    • 22 February 2018
    • 30 November 2017

    The minutes and summaries of meetings of the committee are not published here because they contain information which the University has declared wail not be routinely published under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Further information about the Act (including the reasons why such information is exempt from publication). If you have any queries about the business conducted by the committee, please contact Angela Pater