Department of Computer Science

Department recognised for teaching excellence

Tue May 30 13:31:00 BST 2017

michael-wrightThe Department of Computer Science received a number of accolades for its teaching excellence at recent awards ceremonies. These include two teaching awards from the Faculty of Science and two nominations for the University-wide Education Awards.

A Senior Teaching Fellow and a team of tutors from the department were nominated for Education Awards. The Education Awards are hosted by the Students’ Union and the Centre for Learning & Teaching.

The awards celebrate and recognise the work undertaken by students and staff at the University, awarding prizes to the Academic Rep and University Teaching Award winners.

Dr Fabio Nemetz was nominated for the Mary Tasker Award for excellence in teaching.

Programming tutors from the department were nominated for Best Team in Support of Student Learning Award.

The Faculty of Science Placements team won the Best Team award in recognition of exceptional and/or innovative team work in the delivery of learning and teaching.

Image: Michael Wright

daniela-de-angeli-faculty-awardFaculty teaching awards

Two out of four Faculty Teaching Awards were awarded to Computer Science staff. The awards recognise and celebrate teaching excellence and teaching support in the Faculty of Science.

Dr Michael Wright won the Faculty Teaching Award and Daniela De Angeli won the Faculty Teaching Assistant Award.

EQANIE Accreditation Committee

Professor James Davenport has been appointed to the Accreditation Committee of the European Quality Assurance Network for Informatics Education (EQANIE).

The Accreditation Committee reviews requests of Higher Education Institutions for accreditation of degree programmes.

Professor Eamonn O'Neill, Head of Department, commented: "These awards and appointment are a testimony to the excellent teaching in our department.

"Our staff work hard to provide an excellent learning experience for students, and I am delighted that their hard work and dedication has been recognised in this way."

Image: Nick Brook, Dean of Faculty of Science, with Daniela De Angeli