Skip to main content

Student Prize Winners in the Department of Physics

A number of student prizes are awarded each year to celebrate our students' academic achievements.

Ayliffe Prize

Awarded for outstanding academic achievements during the final year of the Physics or Mathematics & Physics degree.

Winner 2023

  • James Rumbold

Patrick Squire Laboratory Prize

Awarded for outstanding performance in the First Year Laboratory.

Winner 2023

  • Leon Patey

David Bullett Prize

Awarded for outstanding academic achievement in the Second Year of the Physics or Mathematics & Physics degree.

Winner 2023

  • Duncan Bisset

Renishaw Spectroscopy Products Division Software Innovation Award

Best performance based on mark for the large project elements of Computational Physics A, Computational Physics B, and the unit mark for Computational Astrophysics.

Winners 2023

  • Benjamin Andrews (Gold)
  • James Rumbold (Silver)

Transdermal Diagnostics Student Award

Awarded as part of the BSc/MSci conference, for best poster reflecting an industrial placement.

To be awarded for the first time in 2024.

Excellence in Research Prize

The Prize is intended to recognise excellence in the research of PhD students within the Department of Physics and will be awarded for research of outstanding quality and achievement in any area of Physics.

Winner 2023

  • Charlotte Avery

Contact us

For any queries about our research or courses, please contact us via the details below.