Skip to main content

Teachers Awards - Previous Years

Explore the winners and nominations for the Teachers' Awards from previous years.

The Teachers' Awards

Each year The University of Bath Teachers’ Awards recognise and celebrate the important role school and college teachers play in guiding students on their path to university. We’re especially keen to celebrate teachers who work within schools and communities where moving on to university isn’t always seen as a natural ‘next step’.

Each year we invite first-year undergraduate students at Bath, along with all the current year 12 and 13 participants in University of Bath Widening Participation programmes (Target Bath, Pathway to Bath, Discover Bath) to nominate a teacher for one of our five awards. We love to read every single submission and its heartening to see what an impact teachers have on their students.

A black student with a male teacher holding his green glass apple award. Both are wearing glasses and smiling for the camera.

'It means a lot because it's a very difficult job, and when you put in the amount of time that you do, it's nice to get the appreciation back. You're so busy doing the job that you don't realise the effect that you're having on them. Really appreciate it, thanks!' - Award Winner 2022

Some photos from previous Teachers' Awards

Explore some photos from previous awards ceremonies.

Teachers' Awards 2019


Congratulations to all the teachers who won, were shortlisted and nominated for awards in 2022/23.

Inspirational Teacher School or College Award Shortlisted for
Jack Gavin  The Marlborough CofE School Paving the Way - Winner
Paul Fletcher Chislehurst and Sidcup Grammar School Paving the Way
Rebecca Taylor Torfaen Learning Zone - Coleg Gwent Paving the Way
Sarah-Jane Eastwood Cranbrook School Nothing’s Impossible
Alistair Ross Twyford CofE High School Nothing’s Impossible - Winner
Stefano Boseggia London Academy of Excellence Tottenham  Nothing’s Impossible
Rebecca Kearney Charles Darwin School Never Alone
Ruth Davis Tonbridge Grammar School  Never Alone - Winner
Robert Borland Arden Academy  Never Alone
Darren Knott King Edward VI College, Stourbridge Learning for Life - Winner
Margot Johnston The Kingston Academy Learning for Life
Allison Zionts Eltham Hill School Learning for Life
Paul Coward Blessed Edward Oldcorne Catholic College Game Changer
M.E. Browning King Edward VI School, Stratford-upon-Avon Game Changer - Winner
Steven Preston Barton Peveril College  Game Changer
Adam Heasman Sutton Grammar School for Boys Nominated
Alice Topley Sir William Borlase's Grammar School Nominated
Amanda Doherty Trowbridge College Nominated
Amanda Kennedy Barton Peveril College Nominated
Andrew Hanna London Academy of Excellence Tottenham Nominated
Andrew Rae Elthorne Park High School Nominated
Claire Burton Longdendale High School Nominated
Daniel Thorne Queensmead School Nominated
David Ward Bexley Grammar School Nominated
Dr Maria Courel The Judd School Nominated
Emma Cypher Neale George Ward School Nominated
Eylem Denli Oasia Academy Enfield Nominated
Francesca O'Callaghan Bexhill Academy Nominated
Geoff Page Cambourne Village School Nominated
Gillian Barnes Gosford Hill School Nominated
Isabelle Barnes Gordon's School Nominated
Jacquline Hyland Rutlish School / RR6 6th Form Nominated
John Fawkes Peter Symonds College Nominated
Johnathan Richards Greenshaw High School Nominated
Josh Duddy Godalming College Nominated
Kelly Fairweather Gordon's School Nominated
Kevin Lawrence Woodhouse College Nominated
Kirsty Davies The King John School Nominated
Lorraine Marshall Arthur Mellows Village College Nominated
Lottie Hanfling Hills Road Sixth Form College Nominated
Luke Barbanneau The Cherwell School Nominated
Marc Gibson St Dominic's Sixth Form College Nominated
Martin Crozier Rosebery School Nominated
Michele Attwood Ousedale Nominated
Miggy Biller York College Nominated
Mike Gouldstone Chichester High School Nominated
Miss B. Waldron St Michael's Catholic Grammar School Nominated
Mr Adam Bright The Maelor School, Penley Nominated
Mr Neil Stewart Sir Thomas Rich's Grammar School, Gloucester Nominated
Mr Pocock Kennet School Nominated
Mr Stuart Hill Sir William Borlases Grammar School Nominated
Mr. Stephen Jones Penglais School Nominated
Mrs. Sam Rao Kettering Buccleuch Academy Nominated
Nadia Causton Ark Putney Academy Nominated
Nathan Woodvile Verulam School Nominated
Nick Lang Garth Hill College Nominated
Nichola Baxter Aquinas College Nominated
Nigel Marshall Varndean College Nominated
Paul Rea Longdendale High School Nominated
Oscar Payne Dame Alice Owens Nominated
Rachel Browning Ypant Nominated
Ryan Palmer Richmond Park Academy Nominated
Sophie Bucklar Torquay Girls Grammar School Nominated
Tracy Starkey The Willink School Nominated
Ursula Brown St Bernadette Catholic Secondary School Nominated

Contact Us

To find out more about the awards or to ask any questions please get in touch