Skip to main content

The University of Bath Teacher Champion Awards

Celebrating inspiring professionals who champion students from UK state schools and colleges.

Celebrating School and College Teachers

Each year the University of Bath recognises and celebrates the important role teachers, advisors and support staff play in guiding students on their path to university. We’re especially keen to celebrate professionals who work within schools and communities where moving on to university isn’t always seen as a natural ‘next step’.

Each year we invite undergraduate students at Bath, along with all the current sixth form participants in University of Bath Widening Participation programmes to nominate a teacher for one of our awards. We love to read every single submission and it's heartening to see what an impact teachers have on their students.

Shortlisted teachers are invited to join us for a virtual celebration and are also invited to be part of the University of Bath Teacher Champion programme and future events and CPD opportunities.

Nominations are open and will close on Monday 21st November 2022

Submit a nomination
Teacher Champion Awards framed underneath by crescent shape and UOB logo underneath all in white against a dark blue background

2022 Awards

Thank you to everyone who nominated a teacher for the 2022 awards and congratulations to all the nominees. We received more nominations than ever before. This is a reflection of how much students value their teachers’ resilience, empathy and dedication to helping them succeed.

We celebrated the shortlisted teachers in our virtual awards ceremony which was opened by the University of Bath’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ian White. It was a truly inspiring occasion celebrating the life-long impact teachers make on their students.

You can watch the short thank you video of the 2022 nominees and all of the exceptional teachers who have shaped the University of Bath community.

2022 Shortlisted Teachers

Congratulations to all the staff shortlisted for an award.

A group of photos of the shortlisted teachers
Inspirational Teacher School or College Award Shortlisted for
Fariha Sharif  Bishopshalt School Paving the Way
Deborah Briffa Havering Sixth Form College Paving the Way
Philippa Perry Birkenhead High School Academy Paving the Way Winner
Pat McDonald Chichester College Nothing’s Impossible
Charlotte Basterfield CloudLearn Online Nothing’s Impossible
Nicola Carpenter Plantsbrook School  Nothing’s Impossible Winner 
Stuart Thurston Truro and Penwith College Never Alone
Thomas Drury  Stuart Bathurst Catholic Secondary School  Never Alone
Andy Pardy Bournemouth School  Never Alone Winner
Laura Holliss Fareham Academy Learning for Life
Antonio D’Onofrio Guru Nanak Sikh Academy Learning for Life
Stephen Bell-Brown Walthamstow Academy Learning for Life Winner
Paul Darbyshire Felpham Community College Game Changer
Michael Crawford Harris Academy Ockendon Game Changer
Dan Hughes Blythe Bridge High School and Sixth Form  Game Changer Winner

2022 Nominations

Congratulations to all the nominated teachers for the 2022 awards.

Inspirational Teacher School or College
Adam Birch Edgbarrow School
Allison Smith Anthony Gell School
Amanda Cooper Putteridge High School
Ben Breen Dartford Grammar School
Darren Knott King Edwards VI
Della Conway Pencoedtre High School
Dr Douglas Cullen Astrea Sixth Form St. Neots
Edmund Boyd Waldegrave Sixth Form
Gemma Sexton Havant & South Downs college
Guy Ferris Highworth Grammar School
Jackie Sharman Weydon Secondary School
Janet O’Connell Brentwood school
Jonathan Shields Colyton Grammar School
Julie Wells Sir William Borlase's Grammar School
Katie Harrington Woodhouse College
Kristian Waite Caterham Senior school
Laurence Rackham King Edward VI School
Lisa Bond Oxted school
Marc Elsley Commonweal Sixth Form
Matthew Davies The Heathland School
Michele Ponting Aldridge Adult Learning
Mira Peric Gower College
Helen Pinkney Charterhouse School
Mr George Bishop Luffa School
Mr Hoyle Royal Grammar School High Wycombe
Mr Hurford Lytchett Minster School
James Clark Langley Park School for Girls
Gurdeep Bilku Charters School
Brenda Harper Bedwas High School
Mrs Couch Bournemouth School
Suzanne Leslie Potter St Bartholomew’s School
Ms Bhatia West Hatch High School
Nicholas Simmonds Kendrick School
Sarah Belshaw Camborne Science and International academy
Sarah Carter Okehampton College
Simon Cogan St Joseph’s RC High Newport
Tim Aston Twynham School
Vikki Burt Aylesbury High School
Helen Armstrong Solihull Sixth Form
Mrs Bartholomew The Judd School
Jennifer Chalmers Highcliffe Sixth Form

Nominate your teacher

Fill in the nomination form

Contact Us

If you have any questions please get in touch with us